Companion: Burger Time!

This was one of the most fun episodes I’ve filmed to date.  Mostly because I love making French fries… but probably because I was still hopped up on cold medicine.  Despite that, I want to try to keep this post on the shorter side since the video itself had A LOT of content.

First, it’s tough to determine how much content actually makes it into the videos.  I film for X amount of time with the hopes that I can edit it down to somewhere in the neighborhood of about 10 minutes.  We all see how that worked out this time.  Oh well.  Probably one of my most informative posts to date.

Let’s talk meat.  I used a pre-ground ground chuck from the grocer.  If I am making burgers for more than just my wife and I, I will use a combo of ground chuck and ground sirloin, equal parts.  The chuck adds the fat, while the sirloin adds flavor.  I then weigh out my patties to equal sizes and go from there.  Work quickly with the meat since the heat from your hands can make it kinda… gummy, if you’re not careful.  And don’t abuse it.  The meat did nothing wrong to you, so don’t take your anger out on it.

Cheese.  I used American cheese because it melts very well in the burger.  I’ve used blue cheese and gouda.  Gouda is fun because it gets really melty and turns the eating portion into more of an adventure.  Try to pick a good melting cheese, and you don’t have to use a ton.  Perception is key here because even though I only used one slice per burger, it seems like so much more since it is oozing instead of sitting on top the meat.

The fries.  If you have never deep fried anything before, my greatest tip I can give you is to take your time.  Do it right the first time.  Make sure you have your station all set up to begin with so you’re not flailing around at the last minute.  Properly deep-fried food is not greasy and can almost be light and fun to eat.  That is not something people typically think of when eating fried food, but I think that’s because there’s a ton of badly fried foods in the world.  The bubbles around the food in the oil is an indicator that the interior moisture is escaping.  As long as the bubbles are … bubbling… oil doesn’t really stand a chance of entering the food, and when taken out at the right time..  it’s not oily or greasy.  Just crispy and delicious.

The bacon.  Yeah, I’m giving bacon its own paragraph.  Does that really surprise you?  I used one of my homemade bacons.  It was my thyme-garlic bacon and it really added a lot to the burger.  This batch of bacon is particularly salty, but on the burger, that kind of melts into the whole flavor of everything and worked well.  I was very happy with the outcome of this and was happy to eat it as well.

Toppings.  I sliced relatively thin some red onion, which I left raw, and that large tomato.  You know what else is awesome on these babies?  Those caramelized onions from a few episodes ago.  You should look that up.  And then put them on your burger. Soooo good.  I did not do that.  I also put a small layer of mayo on the bottom bun, and some ketchup on top.  Typically, I toast my hamburger buns on the residual heat of the grill, but I opted out of that at the filming time since… well, you could see that it was crazy dark outside.

I would also like to thank my neighbors for not driving by my house with their loud cars or trucks when I was filming.  But who am I really kidding?  They don’t read this crazy thing :)  I need to address the very end, too.  I know I mentioned that I would show the interior of the burger, but after I took that bite, it seriously looked like a car crash in there, and that would not look good on camera.  Ketchup all over the place, juice dripping, tomato guts strewn about.  It’s wasn’t pretty.  But it tasted good, and that’s what matters.

Need the link?  Who am I to disappoint?

See you next week!

About imasamurai

I am the owner of http://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Bacon, Burgers, Companion, Grilling, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Companion: Burger Time!

  1. Holly says:

    This looks like one of those meals I’ll have to eat salad for two weeks to make up for but, hey, I like salad… Lol.

Leave a Reply

