Royale with Cheese.

It’s what they call the Quarter Pounder with cheese in France.  And although I cannot even stomach a McDonald’s cheeseburger anymore, they MIGHT just be on to something over there across the pond.  And since I am a bit of a burger snob, I thought this would be the perfect topic for my first post.  Welcome 🙂

You see, by calling it the Royale, they are insinuating, in my mind, that the burger is royalty.  One could argue that they call it that because after eating a few you will find yourself sitting on a throne for some time…but I digress.  In my mind, there is not one food that perfectly embodies all that is right in the world.  Made properly, a burger can bring back wonderful memories, they can possibly be helping create new memories, they can help you cope with bad memories.  Now if I’m making it seem like the hamburger is the ultimate food, then you’ve caught on quick 😛

Of course, in the past few years, restaurants have been coming up with some really crazy toppings for the burger, which I’m fine with; I’ve toyed around with my own concoctions as well.  In my mind, there’s just something very magical about a decent-sized patty (in the 1/3-pound range), cooked to a perfect medium topped very simply.  Although I do enjoy more lavish adornments, all a burger REALLY needs is salt and pepper, but I have to say my favorite burger that I have made (which is an important distinction) is very simple:

  1. Burger patty made with a combination of ground sirloin and ground chuck, seasoned with kosher salt and ground black pepper.
  2. Grilled to perfection on my monster grill, occasionally basting with melted butter.  (What?!  I never said it was low-fat!)
  3. While it’s resting, toast the buns on the grill using the residual heat and also to absorb some of the left-over burger flavor from my grates.
  4. Little bit of mayonnaise on the bottom bun, burger on top of that.
  5. Horseradish-cheddar cheese on top of the patty. (If you like horseradish, and have a Boar’s Head deli meat provider near you, you NEED this cheese!)
  6. Little bit of ketchup on top of that, followed by some bacon and lettuce.
  7. A little horseradish sauce goes on the under-side of the top bun and close it up.

Is it messy? Yes. Is it a lot of work? Possibly. Is it worth it? Undeniably yes!  Great, I want one now but alas, I find myself burger-less right now.

Since I love hamburgers so much, I will probably be talking a lot about burgers, especially when I eat one that changes my life.  But until that time, I hope you have found this at least mildly enjoyable, and feel free to leave a comment at the bottom!

Love your life, stay positive, and play with your food 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Burgers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Royale with Cheese.

  1. Brent says:

    Nice! I’ve never even heard of horseradish cheese, so you’ve already changed one life! I like the sign off, too. As for suggestions on things to post about, mine rhymes with Macon Rice Dream…

    Looking forward to future posts

  2. Holly says:

    I will b trying this as soon as I get back home to my grill master husband. It sounds amazing. I initially thought that bacon ice cream should have been ur first post, but now I understand why it wasn’t. Great first post. I am looking forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

