Favorite Thing Thursday.

Favorite Thing Thursdays are going to be posts that explore things that are…you guessed it!  My favorites.  Think “The Best Thing I Ever Ate” from Food Network, but expand it a little and you have my version.  So what is it this week?

My Favorite Thing I Have Recently Made.

Bacon ice cream.  There; I said it. Now what?  I suggest taking a moment of silence to honor its’ glory.

Great, now that that’s over with, lemme explain.  It’s amazing.  Plain and simple.  It’s so amazing, my co-workers who didn’t even get to taste it on Monday are still talking about it on Wednesday.  Yes, it’s that good.  One of my co-workers who was lucky enough to have some said it best when she said “It’s like you’re cheating on breakfast with its’ sexy cousin.”

The trick is the maple.  There’s maple syrup in the ice cream itself (good quality, please.  None of that Aunt Jemima crap), and the bacon is the maple variety.  If you used regular bacon, it would literally blow your mind, and nobody wants that.  I refuse to give out the recipe right now since I have only made it once.  However, I am willing to share some details about this phenomenon and what made it so irresistibly delicious.

  • I roasted a bunch of bacon in the oven to render out some of the fat and then steeped it in a hot milk-cream mixture to infuse the bacon flavor into the actual ice cream itself.  This provided the actual cream with a subtle bacon-y, maple-y flavor.
  • I used heavy cream and whole milk for the actual ice cream mixture.  Fattening? Oh you better believe it, but the mouthfeel was like a premium ice cream you would find in your local grocer’s freezer (and it’s bacon ice cream for cryin’ out loud! Nobody expects it to be non-fat!)
  • After letting the mixture chill for a few hours in the fridge, I roasted some more bacon strips to a nice, crispy texture and chopped it into little pieces.  And then, in a moment of pure genius, when the ice cream was almost done churning, I dumped all those glorious bacon bits into the ice cream machine and watched them spin into a divine moo-xture.
  • Then came the hard part:  The waiting.  The best way to eat this stuff is not with whipped cream, or even chocolate syrup, but instead more of that good quality maple syrup.  I know, I know…it’s weird. But not once you take that first bite.

The flavor is like nothing I’ve ever had before, and I’ve eaten a lot of bacon AND ice cream.  First, you get the cold smoothness from the cream itself.  The maple sweetness comes through as does the subtle (very subtle) smokey flavor from the infusion.  Then, when you bite into it and start eating the bacon bits that are in there it changes the whole profile.  Although those pieces do not retain their crunchy texture, they DO retain all of their wonderful baconness and it is so very glorious.  The best part, for me anyways, is the ever so slight salty taste right as you finish with your bite.  It’s not overpowering, and it is the perfect compliment to the very awesome flavor of everything else.

So in the world of food, bacon really does make everything better.  Now, you could play the lazy route and go buy some Breyer’s vanilla ice cream and put bacon bits in there, but it would not even be in the same league as the real deal.  Sure, it really did prove to be a little bit more time consuming than I probably thought it would be, but my, oh my was it worth it.  If I’m not mistaken, I’ve already got about 2 or 3 separate groups of people who are clamoring for me to make another batch.  We’ll see when that time comes.  So until next time…

Love your life, stay positive, and play with your food :)
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Bacon, Favorite. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Favorite Thing Thursday.

  1. #2 Mom says:

    samples on the 7th, please??

  2. Brent says:

    I’m willing to make a donation to help fund the next batch… I still cry myself to sleep each night, thinking about what I missed.

  3. Your biggest fan... Mom says:

    Looks and sounds like a keeper.. a must try indeed!!

  4. Emmalyn says:

    OMGSH!! That sounds SOOOOO good!!! ❤ Maby you could try mango ice-cream.

  5. Pingback: One Blog to Rule Them All. | J Lethal's Food Frenzy

Leave a Reply

