Fired Up Friday.

You should be excited when Fired Up Fridays come along.  No, really.  You see, I love grilling. A Lot.  I would consider marrying it if that was somehow possible.  Anyway, Fired Up Fridays will be the obligatory grilling posting, just in time for the weekend!

Now I know I’ve already described my penchant for a great burger, and the above photo was taken last night, so I just HAD to share.  (On a side note, I’m going to work on getting my *real* camera operational so I can take better resolution pictures for you guys and gals.  What good is a picture of food if it doesn’t look as good as it tastes, right?)

So that brings me to my main point here on my first Fired Up Friday:  General Grilling.  And no, I’m not talking about someone who is a high-ranking official in the military that happens to have a sweet last name.  I’m talking about going out to the grill and making things happen.

More often than not, it’s the men that do the grilling.  And you know what?  I’m okay with that.  Maybe it’s because I’m a guy, but maybe because it satisfies primal male chest-thumping instincts.  I mean, think about it; I go outside into mother nature’s realm and fire up a device that can reach temperatures of upwards 700° F!  Furthermore, I throw a couple of pieces of raw meat on there and then feed it to my family (once it has reached safe temperatures for consumption, of course!).  If this doesn’t scream QUALITY MALE TIME then I don’t know what does.

Do I have a problem with women grilling?  Of course not!  In fact, I think it would be quite awesome if I came home one day and my wife was outside grilling up some steaks or something.  ….Actually.  I might find that quite weird since I work the night shift and often get home around 1am.  I digress. Again.

I remember distinctly one night I was grilling up some beautiful rib eye steaks and my wife had just come out to check on me when some of the fat from the steaks dripped down and caused some flare-ups.  If I recall properly, my wife promptly said something along the lines of “There’s a fire under that steak! Aren’t you going to put it out?!  Isn’t that bad?!”  Now, I may have just gotten myself into a little bit of trouble with her since I know right now 99% of my readership personally know her… but it’s a good point to be made.

Wait, I’m sorry.  What was I talking about?  I started thinking about those rib eyes again!  Anyway, I like grilling, and grilling likes me.  In the coming days I will be posting some pics of my grill, since it is perhaps one of the most amazing spectacles of outdoor cookery I have ever encountered.  So until next time…

Love your life, stay positive, and play with your food 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Grilling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

