Round is Overrated.

Ladies and gentlemen whom I care about so deeply, I am prepared to make a bold statement.

Statement.

Whew.  Glad I was able to get that off my chest.  But seriously, I was able to experience something yesterday that truly changed my life.


Grilled pizza.  Yeah; it’s awesome.  Now, I know I say that about a lot of things, but I feel very passionately about this one….and also everything else I say is “awesome.”  So you see, round is overrated.  Who says pizza needs to be round?  Maybe Papa John, or that Howie guy who’s always starving.  Anyway, it was delicious, no matter what shape it ended up falling on the grill.  Let’s discuss, shall we?  (Of course.  That’s what I’m here for, right?)

Before I get into any details, it’s important for me to state up front that I did not actually do much of the legwork on this piece of art.  Due to time restrictions, and space restrictions I took some liberties with this one, but the results were still beautiful.

  • The dough was pre-rolled, pre-made pizza dough from a local grocery store.  All’s I did was roll it out a little bit more to make it larger and more uniform.
  • The sauce was created in a factory somewhere, and jarred for my use.  It was quite good, but I know not near as good as can be made at home.
  • The cheese I used was store bought, pre-shredded mozzarella.  Again, I know the quality hit I took, but cut me some slack, I’m trying to do this on a budget!
  • The italian sausage I used was also store bought, but to be honest:  I don’t really have a desire to start making my own sausages anytime soon.  Or ever.  Whatever.

All this excitement about the pizza and I forgot to tell you what is on it!  Not that it really matters, but it’s sauce, sautéed italian sausage, covered in mozzarella and then a fresh basil chiffonade.  The fresh basil really added a different dimension to the whole deal.  And since the whole process happens so fast and is like a stir fry, I will share the few steps that are needed now.  You can thank me later!

  • Roll out the dough to desired size and shape.  Brush olive oil (I used extra virgin here) on one side and go pre-heat your grill to medium heat.  Since I have such a large grill, I only used two burners set to medium for this one.
  • Get your toppings ready.  I cannot stress this enough. The whole cooking time is less than 5 minutes once it hits the grill, so anything that needs to be pre-cooked, make sure it gets done pronto!
  • Once you have everything set, and the grill is nice and hot, bring everything out to the grill and get ready for the magic.  Ideally, you’ll need (at the very least) a large spatula, or two good-sized ones for the flip.
  • Lay the dough oil-side down onto the hot grill grates.  Brush oil on the side that is now facing side up and wait.
  • The exposed surface will start to bubble up like a pancake as the yeast start to wake up and do their thing.  Keep checking the bottom for your desired doneness (which for me is a nice char with distinct grill marks).  It took about 2 minutes on my grill for the flip.
  • Once flipped (carefully, please), it’s time to dress it up.  Add your desired toppings to the exposed side and close the lid.  The convection that gets created by this will help melt whatever cheese you put on there, and aid in heating anything else you top with.
  • Keep an eye on the bottom for doneness and remove from the grill when ready.  Wait just a few minutes before cutting in to give everything some time to set.

This will be a staple in my home.  Even if I don’t have the time or space to make my own dough, I know my grocery is only 5 minutes away, and they have an abundant cache.  And just like that, another post on grilling something has been rolled out (you better believe I intended that pun!)  And as always, remember:

Love your life, stay positive, and play with your food 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Grilling, Pizza. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Round is Overrated.

  1. #2 Mom says:

    nice plates, too! 🙂

  2. Ur wife says:

    Best pizza ever!!

Leave a Reply

