Technology Tuesday.

Technology Tuesdays are going to be my posts about technological things in the cooking realm (shocker, I know).  With that being said, the topic of this first TT is:

Wait a minute.  Is that…? Is that a food scale?!  Please, spare me the badgering.  Yes, it’s a food scale.  And the only reason why this is my first post and not my spectacle of a grill is because my *real* camera isn’t operational yet, and that grill deserves better quality pictures!

Not that there’s anything wrong with the food scale…it’s just not a grill.  But that’s not important right now.  What IS important is that this is the topic of the post, and post I shall.

Food scales are mainly used in baking applications since precision is the key to success there.  My particular model is made by Oxo (a great brand), can go up to 11 pounds, can easily be switched from metric to imperial, and the most nifty part is that the front display area is attached via wire, so if I am measuring something over-sized, I can pull the display out and still get a good reading.

Oddly enough, I do not do near enough baking, in my opinion (and I’m sure my wife would agree).  I blame space restrictions, because it generally requires much more free space to bake something fresh than to just season a hunk of cow and throw it on the grill.  The main thing I find myself utilizing my scale for though, is consistent packaging or portioning….which I guess technically could be the same thing, if you think about it.

What do I mean by that?  Well, let’s say for instance I go to the grocery store (something I do often) and I find that they have a four-pound mass of hamburger meat that’s on sale.  Since it is only my wife and I that eat human food in the house, it would not be practical for me to cook the whole four pounds in one sitting.  So what I do in this instance is bust out the scale and weigh equal portions of meat out so that I can freeze them and know how much is in there for later.

Another use for this device is to maintain a consistent weight for specific cooked and uncooked items.  In my case, hamburger patties.  Even food size directly correlates to even cooking time, so I like to measure out my ground beef and then portion them into even patties.  This way I get a consistent burger size, and a consistent burger done time.  Also, a lot of people that are on diets use food scales religiously.  With them, they are able to measure out exactly how much of one item they are allowed to have, or should have or whatever, and it takes all the guess work out of it.

So there.  Food scale.  Not exactly the most exotic tool in my arsenal of kitchen cookery, but a very handy tool to have.  You may not use it everyday, but there will come a time when you wish you had one.

I would also like to take this time to thank all of you who are frequent visitors to my page.  Without you, I would be writing to the abyss known as the internet, and I appreciate you.  I also appreciate the people out there that have subscribed to my page and look for updates…it helps me know that I’m not doing this for my own enjoyment….which I am, don’t get me wrong.  I just like knowing that there are people out there that enjoy my stuff, too.  Tomorrow is the one-week mark for having published this blog and I still have plenty of material (both good and great)…So please, spread the word; tell your friends, family and strangers!  I can’t reach EVERYONE on Facebook!  So thanks again and

Love your life, stay positive, and play with your food 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Technology Tuesday.

  1. Ginny M. says:

    I’ve been looking for a food scale for awhile but there are so many options I didn’t know where to start. Thanks for the suggestion! (great blog by the way!! I’m really enjoying it)

Leave a Reply

