Show Me the Money.

Hey everyone.  Sorry for the gap in posts for the past few days, but I had some stuff to take care of around the house over the last 72 hours.  Anyway, this post is going to deviate from the norm (have I even established a “norm” yet?!) since:  A.  I don’t have a picture and B. It’s not exactly related to food.  But it is food related.  Sort of.  Oh, well, just read on okay?

So, sometimes when you’re going to purchase something, saving money is good.  In fact, saving money is certainly one of my favorite things to do of all time.  Sure, I’ll buy store brand groceries to save a few bucks.  I buy laundry detergent when it is on sale.  I search for the lowest gas prices.  One thing not worth skimping on however, is kitchen gadgetry.  Now I know that the Home Shopping Network will try to lure you in, or you might be mesmerized by  reruns of Billy Mays infomercials trying to sell you useless (or semi-useless) crap.  That’s not what I’m talking about.  I’m talking about going to the store and consciously making the decision to spend less money to purchase an inferior product.

Case in point:  last night, my blender broke.  The carafe slipped out of my wife’s hands while she was cleaning it, and a small chip in the plastic developed around the base of it.  Nobody saw this chip since it was very minute.  As a side-bar, I would like to just say that I hate this blender.  It’s cheap.  It’s white.  The motor would overheat and smell like burning after just a few seconds of high-speed blending.  I really hated this thing.  So anyway.  I was making my delicious bacon ice cream last night and part of the procedure is to deposit a boiling hot milk/cream/bacon mixture into the carafe of the blender and blend on high for a few minutes.  So I sat the carafe down into the sink to prevent any spillage and I poured everything all in.

Then, I noticed that the carafe wasn’t nearly as high as it was a second ago.  My bacon ice cream base was leaking out of the bottom of the carafe and into my garbage disposal.  Stupid small crack in the base.  I salvaged what I could, but it’s gone.  This batch is probably ruined, not to mention only a small amount of ice cream can be made from it now.  Now, when I say that this blender was cheap, I mean it.  This blender was cheap.  Maybe $12-$15 at Target a few years ago.  We don’t use a blender all that often in my house, but when we do, I want it to work darn it!  I know, I know…Imagine that.

So I will be going on the lookout today for a new blender, and I will end up paying more for quality.  I would say “RIP old blender” but no.  I want that thing to burn and rot in Blender Hell, if there is such a thing.   I want a piece of equipment that I can be proud of, and be happy to use.  And make bacon ice cream.  All things will be right when I make that ice cream.

So expect a picture of my new blender soon, since I’ll probably be buying one today.  Also, my real camera will be operational now, so I can take good pictures and not crappy iPhone pictures.

Love your life, stay positive, and play with your food 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Show Me the Money.

  1. Holly says:

    I have a cuisinart blender/food processer. I love it & we use it all the time

Leave a Reply

