One Hundred Percent.

…That is my percentage of successful fish dishes that I have cooked.  Ironically, they were all last night.  Of course, the important detail that I’ve left out is that I’ve only cooked one fish dish.  Ever.  And it was last night.  I haven’t really had motivation to cook fish until just recently.  There are only a few fish that I know of that I like, and unfortunately, my wife doesn’t like any of them.  For me, it’s hard to justify cooking something that we both aren’t going to enjoy.  However, I did receive a few comments about cooking fish, and I was curious anyway, so I took the plunge (seriously…food puns are way too easy) and bought some frozen mahi fillets.

For the uninitiated, mahi mahi is a semi-firm flesh white fish.  It has a mild flavor, and is a pretty good “intro fish” for someone wanting to try getting into seafood.  And since it was my first time cooking it, I figured, “Might as well grill it!”  And grill it, I did.  I will provide the recipe I used in just a little bit.  And yes, I needed the recipe because I literally had NO idea what to do with this sea critter.  Also, since I did the grocery shopping and recipe hunting at the same time, I was able to go ahead and grab all the ingredients I needed.  So here we go.  I will provide a (drool-inducing) picture below the recipe.  I had my fish with a roasted ear of sweet corn and a sweet potato.

Grilled Mahi in the Style of Ceviche

Ingredients (4 servings)

  1. 4 skinless mahi fillets
  2. 1/2 Cup diced red onion
  3. 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  4. 1/4 cup fresh orange juice (admittedly, I used a bottled OJ here. However, I checked the ingredients and made sure that it was fresh, not from concentrate!)
  5. 1 tablespoon minced jalapeno pepper (I used a little bit more since I like the flavor. Took the seeds out to remove most of the heat)
  6. 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  7. 1/4 cup tequila
  8. 1/4 cup fresh chopped cilantro
  9. Kosher salt
  10. Olive oil

Directions

  • Rub the fillets with Kosher salt and set them aside to let them think about what they’ve done.
  • While the fillets are in time-out, go ahead and combine the onion, jalapeno, tequila, both citrus juices and the brown sugar.  Stir that around so that the sugar has dissolved.
  • Put the fillets in a gallon-size zip-top bag and add the marinade.  Get all the air out that you can and store in the fridge.  Total marinade time is going to be 2 hours, so half-way through, flip around the bag a little bit to ensure even marination.
  • When the time is up, heat your grill to high heat.  When it is heated and ready to go, remove the fish from the bag and pat down dry.  Apply some of that olive oil to lube up the fish and put the fillets on the grill.  Once they are cooking, transfer the marinade to a small saucepan and put that on the heat to reduce a little bit.  Total grilling time is going to be less than 10 minutes, so plan accordingly.  I cooked my fish 4 minutes per side, and I think they were *slightly* over-cooked, but each grill is different.  Transfer the fillets to a serving platter or plate or whatever you want, and wait for the marinade/sauce to reduce if you need.  The sauce does not thicken, so you’re not looking for a syrupy consistency.  The recipe I followed said “reduce to 1/4 cup,” but I don’t sit there and measure out my reduction.  So it’s up to you.  When service time is upon you, sauce up the fish, making sure to get plenty of the diced onions and jalapenos on there and also top with fresh cilantro.

If you have followed these instructions and have cooked a sweet potato and some corn, you may have something that looks like this:

Let me tell you, it was delicious!  Because of the cooking process, the jalapenos in the sauce get tuned-down a little bit, and the onions sweeten up.  The whole thing was really great, and you still get a little of that punch from the tequila.  I will certainly be making this again sometime because it was really easy, really fun, and most importantly, really good.  Add some butter to the corn and sweet potato and I had a killer meal!

Stay positive, love your fish and play with your grill 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Grilling, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Hundred Percent.

  1. Brent says:

    LMAO! I think is the first time I’ve ever read the phrase “…lube up the fish…”! The recipe sounds and looks fantastic, but that phrase conjures up some pretty odd images…

  2. Holly says:

    Drunken mahi. Sounds delicious. I luv cilantro too so I’m def trying this one. Did ur wife try it?

Leave a Reply

