Foiled by the Weather.

Hey everyone.  Sorry for my severe lack in posting since last week.  Life has hit me hard now that school is back in session.  However, this goes hand-in-hand with a schedule change at work, so hopefully I’ll be able to get more posts in around mid-week.  I started my blog with a digression this week.  Sometimes I surprise myself.

So if you go back to last post (I know, it was very long ago), I mentioned that I was super excited to cook a pork roast that I had.  Well, mother nature had different plans for my cooking.  What was originally supposed to be a 2-hour rotisserie adventure turned into a one-hour oven waiting period.  I will still talk about it, since it was pretty decent, but I wasn’t totally happy with it.  Plus, I didn’t get to grill it.  But there’s always next time, right?

So this cut of meat I got was the shoulder of pork.  A very fatty cut, with lots of fat running through the meat itself.  Like I said previously, this cut is generally used as a pulled-pork meat since all of that fat melts down and keeps the meat juicy.  I was going to rotisserie the meat for so long because I knew that the fat on the inside needed to break down.

I brined the meat.  I ran over the procedure on that last week.  To the brine, I also added about 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar because, at the time of the brine, I thought that I would be using my grill for this.  Along with the rotisserie action, I had planned on using my smoker box to infuse a huge amount of smoke flavor into the meat.

So none of that happened.  By the time I was ready and able to grill, it was getting late, it was still raining, and I was getting hungrier.  I made the executive decision to put my blend of herbs and spices on the meat, stick my probe thermometer in it, and roast it at a (relatively) low temperature.  Since my plan was to have it roasting for a few hours, and at a low temperature, I put some “extra” brown sugar in the rub so that it would melt down and be finger-licking good.

I had it roasting for about 45 minutes, and my internal temperature of the meat was not what I wanted it to be.  Plus, my wife and I were getting hungrier.  Time was not on our side.  I decided to boost the temp of the oven, thereby decreasing cooking time, but also decreasing the possibility of the internal fat to melt.

So what were we left with?  This: 

Obviously, the big metal stick poking out of the meat is my probe thermometer, a device I recommend every person to have.  The crust-formation was quite nice, I will say.  The amount of sugar I put in the rub was nice and gave it a nice texture.  Almost a crispy feel in some parts.  Internally, however, it was extremely fatty.  I knew it would happen, but I was just hoping that it wouldn’t be so bad.  You see, on a “regular” cut of pork, I would cook it to about 145°-150° or so, and it would be a little pink on the inside, which is totally fine.  On a cut like this, it should be cooked to the USDA-recommended 160° or even higher!  Not because of bacteria, but because of all that dang fat.  Had I had some extra time, I would have continued to cook the meat, and much more of that fat would have had a chance to melt down, make the roast less chewy and still lubricate the meat inside.

So what’s the moral of the story?  Don’t get amped up to grill something during a week when it has been raining nearly everyday.  So I need to wait until next time.  I’m alright with that.  Maybe.  Maybe not.  I don’t have a choice now.  I did end up making some gnarly (in a good way) mashed potatoes, but I will get into that another time.

As usual, I planned on this posting going in a completely different direction, and it turned into more of a rant than anything.  Such is life.  Live and learn, right?  I’ve got some stuff lined up for this week, and I’m working on a system where I will be posting more often despite being so dang busy!  I will try (try being the operative) to continue posting at least 3 times a week.  I love the feedback you guys (and gals) are giving me, and look forward to more suggestions on what would interest you, and keep you coming back for more!  So until next time…

Don’t undercook your extremely fatty pork roast, and love you life and stuff 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Pork. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

