When In Doubt.

When in doubt, write about burgers;  that’s what I say.  And since I won’t be able to write any new posts over the weekend, I wanted to fit as much content in as possible before that time.

So what could I possibly be talking about on the topic of hamburgers again?  I haven’t written that much about my favorite food, and yet I do have a lot of differing opinions and thoughts that I hope to one day share.  What I really want to talk about is the distinct lack of good burgers that I can get by going out to eat.  Before I go on, I would just like to say that I have had some really great burgers while dining out.  I have also had some fantastically terrible burgers, too.  I’m not saying that it is impossible to get a good burger dining out, I’m just saying that maybe in my area, I am blessed with a relative barren wasteland of good burgers.

I generally break burgers into two different categories:  fast-food and gourmet.  Both terms are relative, but they mean (obviously) different things to me.  A fast-food type burger to me doesn’t even have to come from a place like Burger King (Heaven forbid), but simply a burger that has been cooked on a griddle.  They are usually thinner, and are cooked 100% done.  A gourmet burger is more often than not grilled, thicker, and cooked to the diner’s preferred temperature.

Both types have their pros and cons, and both types also have locations that have mastered the art.  In the perimeter around my house, almost everything is a chain restaurant.  I almost can’t go out to eat without going to a chain.  Now, I’ve got some great chain restaurants around me (by their own standards), but nothing can measure up to a [good] local restaurant’s food.  I will try not to mention any names specifically, since I am not getting paid to write this blog (yet).

As far as gourmet-type burgers go, the best one around me is from a restaurant that is known for their deep dish pizza, ironically enough.  Let’s call them “One.”  So One has got some really great burgers.  They have a spicy “special” sauce that they put on there, and they offer a spicy cheddar cheese that is delicious.  The bun seems homemade, and the burger has always been cooked to the temperature I asked.  Near where I work, I sometimes get a burger from a location known for its’ “down under” attitude.  My favorite there is one that they top with some of their signature onion appetizer, and the accompanying sauce.  And then, when I am able to visit Jacksonville, there is a place that is named after a famous entrepreneur/television station owner.  We’ll call this place “Tod’s.”  Tod’s has some of the best, and most consistent burgers I have ever had.  They also serve Bison burgers as well, which is a nice switch (For those of you wondering, bison is not weird.  It is leaner than regular beef, has the same great flavor, and retains its’ juiciness.  Order it next time you have the option.)

On the other side of that spectrum are the not-so-great gourmets.  A certain place near me (and likely near you) takes its’ namesake from some peppers.  While their burgers taste good, they are never cooked right, and are extremely caloric.  Extremely.  Another place that I have had terrible burgers from is a place that is in “your neighborhood,”  I’ll call them “Red Fruit Stinging Bug.”  They have, hands down, the most consistently bad burgers that I have had anywhere.  Usually cooked to a crisp, and some pretty poor options.  They haven’t even gotten a regular, plain burger right; they should not be offering their “higher end” burgers until they get the original down pat.

In the fast food world, the only burger that matters to me comes from a quintuple of gentlemen.  They are greasy.  The bun soaks up all the juice.  The toppings are generous.  It is delicious.  I have had only one semi-poor experience through the many locations I have been, and I’ve been a lot.  Are they caloric?  Oh yes.  Are they delicious?  You better believe it.  I know I didn’t mention it anywhere else, but these guys (ahem) are also known for their french fries, and they are crazy amounts of good as well.

So that pretty much sums up my thoughts on this for right now.  A shorter blog than my past few, but also different content.  Hope you found this at least slightly entertaining or insightful, and I will catch you all on the flip side.

Stay positive, love your life, and play with your food 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Burgers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When In Doubt.

  1. Holly says:

    I luv how hard u tried to veil their true identities. Lol. the fast food one u mention is close to my house & I have the day off… I have a million things to do today and now all I want is to stop everything and go have a burger…. Ur blogs r inspiring but in this case, a bad influence… Lol. Thnx 4 not leavin us hangin all weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

