Age-Old Question Answered.

I’m sure you’ve all heard it.  “Which came first, the chicken or the egg?”  Well, prepare to be amazed.  The egg came first.  I wrote about it on Friday.  I’ll be waiting for my Nobel prize in the mail.

Anyway, I made a pretty good chicken recipe the other night.  And by “pretty good” I mean “I’m definitely gonna make it again sometime.”  And since I love all my readers, I plan on sharing the recipe.  It’s one that I found online, but I plan on making some tweaks to it for the next time.

The amounts that I am going to give are a rough estimate of what I used.  And I made three average-sized chicken breasts.  I also served this with good old fashioned white rice; the perfect sauce-sopper.

Key West Chicken Breast

Ingredients (3 servings)

  1. 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  2. 5 tablespoons soy sauce
  3. 4 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped
  4. 2 tablespoons honey
  5. 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  6. 2 limes, juiced.

Directions

  • In a gallon-sized zip-top bag, toss in everything except the chicken.  Seal the bag and combine everything very well.
  • When everything is well-combined, add the chicken breasts, get as much air out of the bag as possible, and then seal.  Try to move the chicken around a little bit after sealing to get good marinade coverage.
  • Marinate for as long as your heart wants…Unless your heart wants to marinate it for 12 hours, which I would refrain from.
  • Fire up your grill to medium-high heat and prepare to get cookin’.  When the grill is ready, remove the chicken from the bag and put it straight on the grill.  It took mine about 15 minutes total cooking.
  • When they are done, I removed them from the heat and placed them on a decorative plate with rice that was standing by.  I was graced with a plate of delicious food that looked something like this:

Mmmmmmm.  Look at those grill marks.  And the char around the edges was easily the best part.  I definitely will be doing some things differently next time, and I will share right now.

For one, I did not have fresh garlic.  I only had garlic powder, which is fine, but I missed the real kick of garlic.  I used, maybe 1 tablespoon of it.  I didn’t measure it.

Second, it needed some heat.  Maybe next time I’ll throw a few sliced jalapenos in there, or some crushed red pepper or something.  It’s definitely not too sweet either, which is good.  The honey gives a good balance of sweetness that doesn’t kill your tastebuds (it also sears up real nice on the grill).

Finally, I would like you to notice the lack of salt in this recipe.  Actually, I should say that “lack of obvious salt.”  You see, my chicken was marinating for upwards of about 7 hours.  Soy sauce could be considered liquid salt to some, so when my chicken came out of the marinade, I didn’t need to do anything.  Aside from the apparent lack of spiciness, it was seasoned perfectly.  The lime juice adds a little tart background that compliments the slight saltiness and sweetness from the soy and honey.

This is a really well-balanced chicken recipe in flavor.  And if my best guess is anywhere near right, it’s not that bad for you, either.  Chicken breast are most often associated with boring food, and don’t get me wrong:  I’ve had some pretty boring chicken breasts.  This recipe however, was easy to put together, all of the ingredients were cheap (or I already had on hand), and the results were just delicious.  And I just so happened to cook the rice properly this time, and I was left with a great piece of chicken and rice that soaked up the flavors from the bottom of the meat.

A definite keeper, and I hope you try it!

Stay positive, love your life, and play with your food 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Age-Old Question Answered.

  1. Holly says:

    Maybe roasted pablano peppers??

Leave a Reply

