Not Staying There.

Welcome back!  In this second part of my Las Vegas series, I will be covering the “other” food that I ate.  I say “other” because I basically broke down our eatings into three different categories:  our nice dinner (which should be posted by Friday (It’s gonna be a doozey)), the Burger Bar (which was posted yesterday), and the “other” food that we ate.  Obviously, being gone for the amount of time that we were, we had a chance to eat a lot of great food, and I can honestly say that there wasn’t a single meal that we ate that I regretted.  Quite the contrary.  I wish to go back and eat it all again!  This post will not cover every single thing that I ate, but at least the highlights.

Since we were staying at the Embassy Suites, they have a pretty sweet breakfast situation that is included with your stay.  You get a free breakfast every morning that you are there, and everything is cooked to order.  So on day one, I had an omelet with bacon, peppers, mushrooms, jalapenos and cheese.  Along side I had some hashbrowns and a cup of coffee.  No pictures of this because quite frankly, it didn’t look very appetizing, but it was delicious.  I don’t think anything else needs to be said about breakfast here though.  With this exception:  We didn’t eat breakfast anywhere else, so all of my morning meals were at the hotel, which didn’t bother me because it was delicious every day and their French toast was killer.

We got in late Thursday night so by the time we got to the hotel, all we wanted to do was eat and then crash.  So that’s what we did.  We got some pizza delivered, ate a majority of it, and then crashed.  The pizza was pretty good for a delivery place, and although my wife would lament that it was “too greasy,” I found it to be quite delicious.  It was a pepperoni and sausage pizza, nothing fancy, but also not anything to write home about.  And honestly, that is a very ironic phrase for me to use since I am writing right now.

Friday was a “Strip” day and we covered a lot of ground, literally.  My wife and I were pretty stuffed from breakfast until the mid-afternoon and it hit us like a ton of bricks.  Having walked a few miles, and our appetites finally no longer able to be silenced, we found a place that had a lunch special, and happened to have a snazzy name:  Lagasse’s Stadium.  And yes, that is one of Emeril’s brainchilds.  Anyway, the atmosphere was very “sports-barry” (as you would expect from something with Stadium in the name).  But I’m not here to talk about atmosphere.  I was starving, and something on the lunch menu caught my eye:  the fish and chips.

These were quite possibly the best fish and chips I’ve ever had.  The fish was moist and flaky, and the crust was very crispy, but did not puncture the roof of my mouth, which I appreciate.  I believe it was a cod, breaded in panko breadcrumbs and then fried.  It was drizzled with a balsamic vinegar, and that added a pretty nice tang to the fish.  It was definitely needed, else the fish would be a little on the bland side.  But something that wasn’t bland was the tartar sauce that came on the side.  It was unlike any other tartar sauce that I’ve had in the past, and that’s a good thing.  It was the right amount of tartness and just a hint of sweetness.  The scallions on top added a little different crunch to the mix, along with yet another flavor on top of everything.  Served on the side were fresh cut waffle fries and they were quite good as well.  I would even venture to say that they were better than a certain fast-food joint’s famous waffle fries.  So that was my lunch.  My wife had a pulled pork sandwich, and it was very good as well.  It was served on a homemade bun that was soft and soaked up all of the sauce from the meat.  The meat was juicy and tasted just the way a good pulled pork sandwich should.

So after that, we left and headed down the Strip even more, and you know what meal comes after lunch, right?  Dessert!

Please excuse the blurry picture, I was trying to take it quickly before I ate all of my gelato.  Yes, more gelato for me!  Before leaving on vacation, I did a lot of reading on what to do in Vegas, and almost everything I read said that we needed to go to the Cafe Gelato, located in the Bellagio hotel.  After getting turned around a little bit, we finally made it there and it was worth it.  They had plenty of flavors, for even the pickiest eaters, but I chose a personal favorite of mine:  Mint chocolate chip.  If you’ve never had gelato before, It’s like ice cream but better.  There’s less fat in it, less air whipped in, and kept at a lower temperature than ice cream, which gives it a dreamy texture, and melts in your mouth evenly.  Wow, it was good.  The chips were dark chocolate, not too bitter, not too sweet.  They weren’t huge hunks of chocolate, and the gelato itself was minty and melty.  It was really great.  But ya know, after eating that hearty lunch, I had a really hard time finishing off my cup.

Okay.  I lied.  But can you blame me?  It tasted way better than my picture may have told you, and it was so easy to eat!  We would try to get back there on a daily basis since our hotel shuttle basically dropped us off at the Bellagio, but it never again fit into our schedule.  Looking back, I would love to go back there and try their tiramisu flavor, or their banana toffee crunch, yumm!

So Friday night we went to the Burger Bar, and if you’ve already forgotten, I wrote about that yesterday.  I do not intend on writing anything else about the Burger Bar except that I would love to go back, right now, and stuff my face.

Saturday was another fairly busy day for us.  Breakfast at the hotel, of course.  A few hours later, we found ourselves at the New York-New York hotel, and what does one eat in New York?  Pizza of course!

Yes, I know.  That’s a huge slice of pizza.  Actually, we arrived at just the right time because I wanted pepperoni pizza, and they had none out on the table, but it came fresh out of the oven, and then the guy behind the counter was hasty in cutting it, so I got a ginormous slice.  And having eaten real New York pizza not too long ago, this slice stood up pretty well against the real deal.  The cheese was bubbly and gooey.  The pepperoni was spicy and delicious, and the crust had a nice texture, and a great crust flavor.  I only wish it would have stayed in the oven just a few minutes longer.  While it was good, the crust lacked a distinctive backbone and was kind of limp.  I like to have little burn spots on the bottom of my crust, because those taste delicious.

Saturday night was our nice dinner.  And as much as I would love to splurge on details here, I will leave you with a cliffhanger of sorts.  Just know that we ate at a world famous restaurant, and it was the most amazing meal of my life.

We stayed out super late on Saturday night/Sunday morning.  We started up on the Strip on Sunday in the afternoon after some recovery, and what’s the best recovery for a night out of drinking?  An afternoon of drinking, of course!

That’s a blue lemonade margarita from the Cabo Wabo Cantina.  Cabo Wabo is a restaurant founded by Sammy Hagar, whom at least a few of you know.  Anyway, it was delicious and refreshing.  It was smooth and lemony, but not too much so.  I liked it a lot and want another right now.  And since I type my blogs with no pre-planning whatsoever, I just remembered that before we were Strip-bound, we had lunch at P.F. Chang’s near our hotel.  I am proud to say that this was the only National chain restaurant that we ate at the entire weekend we were gone.  That night, we went to a Cirque du Soleil show and had a late dinner at a place called Trevi.

This was a nice little Italian restaurant within the Forum Shoppes at Caesar’s Palace.  I will admit right now that I ordered the wrong thing.  They had a special going for a cannelloni pasta, drenched in cheese sauce and stuffed with beef short ribs.

If you don’t know what cannelloni are, just imagine them like little burritos or something.  Now, the meat for the dish was prepared nicely.  Succulent and juicy, tasty and delicious.  The cheese sauce was made up of fontina cheese, and a creamy bechemel sauce under that.  On top of it were some diced red peppers (and they honestly didn’t add much to the dish).  All in all, everything worked, but I think I was expecting something different, so my mind may have just been turned off by it.  Also, it was incredibly filling.  I ate one and a half of those on an empty stomache and I thought I might explode.  Making matters worse, my wife got a four-cheese ravioli dish, smothered in a tomato cream sauce.  I secretly scoffed at her decision, because I generally don’t like pasta with just cheese, but man, she had me regretting my decision.  The sauce was silky smooth in both flavor and texture.  The ravioli were obviously hand-made, and the cheeses inside were a blend of sharp cheeses and a mild cheese (I think it was Parmesan, fontina, mozzarella and provolone, but I could be wrong).  One bite, and I knew that I made the wrong choice.  But, live and learn, right?  After dinner, I convinced her that we should eat dessert, and we got a chocolate chip gelato.  While not as good as the Cafe mentioned above, it was pretty dang good gelato.  Imagine the gelato picture above, but instead of green, make it white.  That’s what it looked like.  The chocolate in this was good, but they left the chunks too big and often times, we were just crunching down on chocolate cubes.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that, it just ruined it a little bit for me.  It was a little unbalanced.

Finally, our last real meal in Vegas was at a Mexican joint called La Salsa Cantina.  A small establishment with a few location on the Strip.  I didn’t take a picture of this food because I got a burrito.  And I would literally be taking a picture of a tortilla on a plate with some black beans and rice.  I got a fajita burrito with roasted carnitas, and whoa.  I think I found a burrito better than my beloved Chipotle (don’t be fooled, Chipotle is still amazing, and I will continue to eat there constantly).  The meat had an explosive flavor that was a little spicy, but not too much so.  It wasn’t bland by any stretch of the imagination, either.  The seasonings they put on it was a great blend, and matched well with the peppers, onions and beans in my burrito.  I promptly devoured it and was happy.

So that concludes my “other” food adventure in Las Vegas.  This is my longest post to date, so I hope you were able to follow everything.  I look forward to writing again soon and taking you through my amazing dinner experience.

Stay positive, love your life, and subscribe to my blog 🙂

About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not Staying There.

  1. Holly says:

    I love love love gelato. I have had different flavors from many different places but none so fancy as ceasars palace. Given the chance tho… I’d totally go out of my way to try it too

Leave a Reply

