You’re Fired.

…Fired up Friday, that is!  Trying to keep in line with my goal to write twice a week I am here for another edition of Fired Up Friday, and this one should be fun.  Why, you may ask?  Well, because it deals with a little mishap that I had today…and that’s always fun.

Today, I decided to grill some nice tilapia fillets for the first time.  Having never done this before, I briefly consulted the internet but found little to no help.  So I took matters into my own hands.  I had two fillets, which I coated with extra virgin olive oil, then fresh lemon zest, kosher salt and fresh black pepper.  Then I doused the whole thing in lemon juice while I turned my grill on.  So far everything’s normal, right?

Well, I let my grill get up to heat and then I slapped those fillets down on the hot grates.  They sizzled with such enthusiasm, I must say.  I had read that they needed to be flipped around the 4 or 5 minute mark, so I began my procedure.  Begin Operation: Epic Fail.  I do not own a fish spatula, nor a basket of any kind for the grill.  Furthermore, they probably weren’t entirely ready to flip, so I ended up losing a little bit to the abyss and managed to get a great percent of the flip still intact.  I had a similar issue when removing the fish from the grill altogether.  It sticks very easily, and it is also extremely delicate.

Now, I had my heat at a solid medium-high, but next time, I’m aiming for high heat for a shorter amount of time.  You see, the quicker I can get a solid sear on the outside of the fish, the easier it will be to loosen it from it’s temporary home.  By turning up the dial, I will be cooking quicker, which is nice, but also pretty much assuring that it comes out in one piece.  So the moral of the day is this:  If you’re gonna cook tilapia fillets on the grill, make sure you have a great sear on one side before attempting to flip.

Aside from that little hiccup, the fish tasted great.  It was cooked properly, flaked really nicely and was well-balanced in the flavor department.  I did not use any sort of recipe for this, I just eye-balled it.  For two fillets I ended up using the zest of two lemons, and the juice from one.  I also went heavy on the black pepper to simulate the “lemon pepper” flavor.

I will certainly do this again, but taking a few more precautions.  So this is officially the second fish thing I’ve ever cooked, and I’m still pleased with the result although the process was not perfect.  I realize that this was a short one today, but I hope you found some insight, and maybe an idea for dinner tomorrow!

Stay positive, love your life, and play with your food 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Grilling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You’re Fired.

  1. Holly says:

    If ur not going to get a basket, u should grill fish like shark steaks, salmon, tuna steak and mahi. They are firmer and easier to keep in one piece on the grill. Plus they are very yummy

Leave a Reply

