Oh, How Random.

It seems as though I have been slacking.  Again.  But cut me some slack will ya?  I’ve been crazy busy lately, and I haven’t forgotten about you all!  As the title suggests though, I expect this to be a pretty random post since I have no direction on this right now.  I am literally thinking about what I am writing the instant before writing it.  This could prove to be a detriment before too long.

But I have some cool stuff to share, and I might even talk about food this time!  I know, a real shocker.  I just ask that you please not write me off just yet.  I know I may not have enough time to even keep up with my “two blogs a week” promise, but I still love writing this, and I still love the feedback I’m getting.

That being said, I think it’s safe to say you guys and gals all know that I love food.  Like, a lot.  Obviously, I mean…I’m writing a food blog, for crying out loud!  So, that’s why I have made the decision to switch career paths and I am enrolling in culinary school at Le Cordon Bleu Academy.  I am super excited about this decision, and I know that following my passion in life will lead to happiness.  And really, creating great food AND having the time of my life?…What could be better?!  So I will be starting that in January, so I imagine I will be able to share a lot of my new learnings and techniques.  Along with tasty new recipes and whatnot.  I think it’s going to be an amazing experience, and just want January to hurry up and get here!

In other news, as you know (hopefully), the holidays are coming up!  With a mere 2 weeks before Thanksgiving right now, I’m sure at least some of you are freaking out about what to cook.  I’m not sure yet if I am hosting Thanksgiving this year, and that’s compiling the stress.  So here I am, searching for delicious recipes to cook, not knowing if I am even gonna be able to use them!  But in all honesty, I am hoping I get to host it.  It will be yet another opportunity for me to do what I love, and give back to those whom I love.  Ugh…Okay, enough corniness.  I’ve already found some spectacular recipes for variations of turkey, side dishes, and most importantly:  dessert.  I even found a recipe for pumpkin pie that substitutes evaporated milk with melted vanilla ice cream, yum!  So, as that information unfolds, I’m sure I will share my menu with you all to drool over and ruin yet another keyboard.

Moving along down the calendar, Christmas is coming up too!  Now I happen to know for a fact that I am hosting Christmas, and I cannot wait!  In fact, once my wife and I came to the decision that we were going to be hosting Christmas, she started talking about decorating and stuff and all I heard was “blah blah blah.”  I was already thinking about what I wanted to cook.  That’s how my brain works.  Actually, I didn’t hear “blah blah blah,” I was listening to what my wife was talking about, but the food thought was a little more prominent.  Anyway, the only thing I know for certain is that if I can find one on sale, I am making a standing rib roast.  Not only that, but I am going to dry age it as well.  I have a mini fridge in my garage that I have been priming to do the job.  If you’re not familiar with dry aging, it’s basically like ‘controlled rotting.’  I know, it sounds gross.  But it’s what all the top steakhouses do to make their steaks so tender and delicious.  Basically, you hold the meat at a controlled temperature.  This process allows some of the moisture within the meat to evaporate, giving you a more concentrated beefy flavor and a smoother texture within.  If you have the space and the time, it is totally worth it.

Other than that, I mentioned before that I am on a diet and have been trying my best to eat clean and healthy.  For the most part, I have been doing really well, save for the days I allow a cheat or two.  It was really hard around Halloween, but I persevered and am actually really happy with the restraint I was able to show.  But I’m not here to brag.  Although technically I can do whatever I want since this is my blog.  But I wouldn’t do that to you guys (and gals.)  I’ve been experimenting with my lean meats lately.  It’s tough living off of chicken breasts and lean beef.  I think the trick is to try to keep up with the variety, both with the type of protein eaten and also the seasonings.  It also helps me to cook in batches, but in small batches.  Since you cannot keep cooked things in the fridge forever, it’s best to cook in smaller batches, to maybe last 3 days or so, and then cook again after that.  I made the mistake of cooking a huge mass of food my first week, and I was eating the same chicken 8 days later.  Suffice it to say that it was not good.  At all.  And I was also putting myself at risk of getting sick.  Please learn from my mistake.

Speaking of mistake, my last post involved my fish mishap on the grill.  Well, I learned from that mistake and I make the same tilapia this afternoon, but instead of grilling it, I cooked it on my stove top.  I seasoned the fillets very simply with kosher salt, fresh black pepper and smoked paprika on both sides.  Then a light coating of extra virgin olive oil (the fat in EVOO is actually quite good for you), and then placed them gently in my non-stick pan.  I think the heat was in-between medium and medium-high, and was maybe cooking for about 4 minutes per side.  I really wasn’t counting though.  They came out great!  Not overcooked, not overly seasoned, and a really great dinner.  And best of all, no sticking!  Everything came out in one piece and I did not have to fight for it.  So that’s been my life lately.  Eating chicken breasts and tilapia.  I know there are plenty of other lean protein options, but that’s what I have on hand, and that’s what I have time for.  As things progress, I’m sure I will expand and try different things as well.

So that’s all that was really on my mind right now.  I know it was pretty random to read, but it was also pretty random to write.  But, you were warned.

Love your life, stay positive, and play with your food 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh, How Random.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Real nice.

  2. Holly says:

    I hear pork tenderloin is a good lean protien option. I know how you love your pork.

Leave a Reply

