Stress is Not an Ingredient.

Nor is it an option.  I am compelled to write this post since Thanksgiving is just a few short days away.  I happen to know for a fact that a lot of people are going to be very stressed out about…well, everything.  My most important piece of advice to anyone in this situation is to take a step back.  There’s still time.  Plan it all out.  Do as much as you can ahead of time to lighten your load.

Now, this is my first Thanksgiving dinner that I’m cooking.  You might be thinking “Why should I trust J Lethal?  He’s never done this before!”  And you’re right.  But at the same time, this is my blog, and you’re reading it 😛  But in all seriousness (as serious as I can be), I love planning things like this out to help prevent a level of stress that plagues many kitchens.  Plan for things to go wrong.  The key to that is keeping your cool and not freaking out over things.  With a keen eye on the planning portion, most problems can be thought of ahead of time, and you can already foresee potential problems.  For instance, if you wait until the morning of, you may find out that you do not have enough serving dishes.  Or utensils.  Or cooking vessels!

So, along that note, as soon as I finish this post, I am going to be sifting through my recipes and planning everything out.  Everything.  What pan I plan on using.  What prep I can do ahead of time.  What I can actually cook the day before.  BRINING MY TURKEY.  Oh no!  I said it again.  The “B” word.  And actually, if your turkey is not defrosting right now, you are setting yourself up for failure.  And if you haven’t thought about brining your bird, then you need to do that!  I know I am harping on this a lot, but it’s very important.  Give yourself the protection a brine allows.  Wow your guests with a juicy bird.  And again, I am happy to answer any questions regarding this mythological process that can transform a boring turkey into a juicy, delicious centerpiece.

I plan on taking lots of pictures throughout my process.  They will probably be cell phone pictures, and look kind of terrible, but I will do my best.  I will try to control the lighting to give the pictures the best chance possible.  I will not be revealing my full menu until that time, too.  Which, I realize is after the holiday, but hey… can’t give away all my secrets ahead of time, right?

I would also like to touch base with you loyal readers who I may not speak to on a normal basis.  I appreciate your readership.  I got some really great feedback this past week from people that I rarely talk to (and one I’ve never even met).  I know I don’t post as often as I would like to, but I feel like these posts are getting more and more concise and to-the-point (read:  quality over quantity).  At any rate, if you have any feedback for me, good or bad, feel free to reach out any way you see fit.  Email me.  Post here.  Facebook me.  I don’t care.  I love feedback, because what kind of blog would this be if I didn’t care about the people that read it?!  It would not be a very good one, that’s for sure.  Also:  if there’s anything you would like to see me write about, my inbox is always open for that, too.

So until next time,

Stay calm, love your turkey, and don’t stress out 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stress is Not an Ingredient.

  1. Holly says:

    Funny you should mention not having the proper utensils. Oddly, I found out last minute that I was going to be responsible for hosting again this year for six, so I ran up to the store and bought the box set out of sheer lack of time and money… Idk why I thought I would not need a roasting pan to reheat the bird…. Guess I’m going shopping tomorrow whether I wanted to or not (which I didn’t)

Leave a Reply

