New Routines.

Well hello again boys and girls!  Since WordPress only (apparently) lets me post blogs to my main page, I will just post my adventures in culinary school to this page.  And I’ll tag them with “LCB,” so if you’re reading this in the future, you’ll just need to search for LCB if you want to only read about my school exploits.

Oh, and I want to thank everyone for their participation in my poll.  For those of you who didn’t vote, your voice was not heard, and now you have to deal with me writing about my schooling 😛  When I last checked my stats, I had about 40 views of my last blog, and only 14 votes.  I know you’re out there!

Moving on though, this week has already been incredible.  In case you do not know, LCB stands for Le Cordon Bleu, which is the highly esteemed culinary college that I am attending for my associates in the culinary arts.  I am lucky enough to be in the Orlando area, where there is a very nice campus less than 40 minutes from my house.  And you know what?  I have so much I want to add in this post that I don’t even know where I want to start.  Or if I’ll even get to it all.  I probably won’t.  And then remember later, and then not update it.  Thus is life, I guess.

Speaking of life, it has gotten a whole heck of a lot more hectic now that I am going to this school.  As many of you know, I work late nights, often times getting home close to 1am.  My program requires me to be at the college and prepared at 7:15am this term.  Which means I have to wake up at about 5:15a to make sure I have everything in order.  Needless to say, I am definitely sleep deprived right now…and I’m probably going to have to start drinking coffee again.  Luckily though, the curriculm is amazing, and I am looking forward to every day of learning.

I’ll start at the beginning though, since that’s usually the best place to start.  I started on Monday 1/3.  That was a pretty hard day for me to sit through, to be honest.  It was an extended orientation session, basically.  We were all deposited into an area and basically lectured on the student handbook.  The expectations.  Rules.  Procedures.  Tips and tricks.  A lot of it was common sense, and I did find some of it useful, so it wasn’t a total bust.  We also received all of our uniforms, got our picture taken for our ID badges and received our amazing culinary tool kits.  I will dedicate an upcoming post to the tool kit when I can get some good pictures of it.  I am estimating this to be on Friday since I will have a night off from work and can do it some justice.  It’s everything that I could ever want or need in one convenient carrying bag.  It’s 3-tiered and just an epic collection of culinary mastery.  But that was essentially our first day.  Sit here and get talked to for a long time, then go wait in a series of lines to get the stuff you need.

Day 2 was a completely different experience.  As a new student, there are two classes that everyone takes:  Culinary Foundations 1 and Safety & Sanitation.  In Foundations, we got our syllabus and were spoken to about the course a little bit and what to expect.  I was looking through the syllabus though, and it is a detailed account of everything we will be doing on every day.  So I know what I will be doing tomorrow, in a week, and in a month.  It’s pretty exciting to know I can look at the syllabus and know exactly what to expect.  That’s really helping me roll out of bed, too.  Knowing all these crazy cuts and terminology that are upcoming are good motivation.  We took a mini tour of the campus here too, to get us acclimated to the area and were dismissed with the knowledge of what tomorrow would bring.  It was pretty much the same thing in S&S too.  Basically just a guided tour through the syllabus and what to expect from the course.  It’s setup the same way in that the syllabus details what tasks will be done on everyday.  It’s a true benefit of being in such a regimented program.  Knowing exactly what to expect every day.  I would like to mention here that part of my homework reading assignment for Foundations included a 9-page block of diagrams and descriptions on several different cuts for vegetables.  Of which I have only heard of 2.  I have much to learn.

Day 3 was today.  And can you believe it?  We were handling our knives today and making cuts already!  We had to setup our stations, get the appropriate knives out of our kits and get some potatoes, our first victims in this long road of cookery.  2 potatoes, to be exact.  I would like to add that I thought the cutlery I have at home was pretty sharp.  Notice that I said “thought.”  After using the school-issued cutlery, I realized that my home stuff is terrible and needs to be sharpened terribly.  But anyway, we had to perform some of the cuts we read about in the book and present them to the chef instructor for approval.  He seems pretty lenient, but it was also only our first day and we have much practicing to do.  That was really all we did today in that class.  I would like to mention that my chef instructor here is one of the 70 Certified Master Chefs in the country (which is a big deal), he’s German (very German, in fact), and he’s teaching the foundations in a French culinary program.  It’s pretty funny to hear him pronounce the French terms for everything, and I find it odd that I will be learning French technique and vocabulary from a German chef.  But he’s awesome and has a good sense of humor.  In S&S, we just did an overview of the reading we had to do the night prior, which included the procedure for correct handwashing, a basic overview on cross-contamination, and some guidelines, among other things.  I have a feeling that S&S will be one of those classes that I don’t enjoy all that much, but I gotta fight through it because:  1.  It’s required, 2.  It’s important to have a good grasp on these things, and 3.  I want to do the absolute best that I can throughout the program.

So that’s pretty much an update on what’s been going on at school, and I will do my best to keep you all updated as long as you’re still interested.  Hopefully my body can adjust to having so few hours of sleep and I can get into a groove.  If I can’t, then I fear I might be doomed.  But like I said earlier, there’s always coffee!  Lots, and lots of coffee.  And as always, I look forward to your comments and questions.  I am happy to answer any questions regarding the school, my classes, or anything really.  And if I don’t know the answer, I’ll let you know and try to find an answer as soon as I can.

Until next time!

About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in LCB. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Routines.

  1. Holly says:

    I feel so horrible… you already knew one more cut than I do…

  2. Michael B. says:

    Now that you mentioned that your home knives are not as sharp as you thought they were, I am assuming you will take care of this iomportant task. I would like to know where you will take your home cutlery to get sharpened because I have noticed that mine are very dull also?

Leave a Reply

