Put Down the Pitchfork.

Ok, ok.  I know.  It’s been a crazy long time since I’ve actually posted anything worthwhile.  I apologize.  I know it seems like I probably use the same excuse all the time, but heck… the last few weeks were insane.

Obviously, there’s too much content for me to fill you in on all the details of what I want to talk about, so I’ll give a brief overview of some highlights.

Most notably is the fact that I have come to the realization that I can no longer simply “cook.”  For example, I made a meal a few weeks ago for my wife and I.  I made some amazing pork chops, then a pan sauce and some white rice.  I am finding ways at home to use my education and it’s really amazing.  I hosted Easter at my house this year with my in-laws.  I made a salad (with homemade croutons, and an apple vinaigrette), grilled rib eye steaks with my now-famous bacony caramelized onions and mushrooms,  grilled zucchini, and a starch which escapes me at the moment.  It was just as amazing as it sounds.  Possibly even more than that.  2 weeks later, my parents came to town and I cooked for them, too.  It was a joint mother’s day/my dad’s birthday, so I made the same salad with apple vinaigrette (sans croutons), an amazingly amazing standing rib roast rubbed with a rosemary-garlic salt and slow roasted,  a sauce from the drippings using a packet of demi-glace that I bought and some extra love, roasted garlic mashed potatoes, and layered zucchini tomato dish with a panko parmesan crumb on top, my wife also prepared some really great cheese bread popovers that I have written about before and were stellar.  My cooking has definitely gotten “fancier” since I’ve been learning a lot more in school, and I am totally okay with that.

The last few weeks in school were crazy and we finished making our rounds throughout protein-land.  We finished up with shellfish, we did a veal day, with a white veal stew,  osso bucco, and cordon bleu.  We cured some bacon and ate it 10 days later, which was amazing.  We worked with fish again.  We did a lot, and a lot of it was very stressful.  I now know what it’s like (to an extent) to be on the cooking shows and be under such a time crunch.  The clock is unrelenting, and the food’s gotta get done.  It really helped out with my time management skills, which are beyond important.

I am now “stuck” in 6 weeks of classroom classes, but you know what?  I’m totally fine with that.  First of all, I am mentally exhausted and to an extent, physically as well.  Not to say that my classes won’t be mentally challenging, it’s just a different challenge.  And it will give my feet a rest for once.  So I’ve got Nutrition and a Cost-Control class.  I’m kind of excited for both, mainly because I am just really interested in learning about proper nutrition and also cost control is gonna be a big portion of my life going forward.

I realize this post is a little scattered, but I am literally just writing what’s coming to my brain at any given time.  It also feels like one of those Microsoft Bing commercials, but less annoying.  In my opinion anyway.  I’m hoping to get my act together and get another video posted soon.  I know the topic I want to cover, it’s just a matter of getting everything together and the time to edit it down.  I get out of school a little earlier now, so I should have some extra time to do the aforementioned tasks, which will be nice for us all.

Wow, this really is all over the place, isn’t it?  I think something that’s really interesting about a career in culinary is that there are so many different options available, and so many that I wouldn’t mind doing.  Personal cheffing sounds interesting to me, executive cheffing, food trucking, tv personality, food critic, butcher.  All these things sound like amazing possible future paths for me, and for once I’m getting really excited thinking about my future career.  This is how I know I’m doing the right thing.

And finally, I’m going to jump to a completely unrelated topic and talk about school again.  Like I said, I’m writing this literally as everything comes to mind.  The actual cooking practical of my Foundations 3 class was a mystery basket day, where we drew slips of paper out of a bowl that had 1 of 6 possible plates of food on there that we had to create from memory.  I prepared for the worst but got the dish that I was most comfortable with.  I ended up drawing sage-rubbed pork roast (with apple essense) with a pan sauce, braised red cabbage and a bulgur wheat pilaf.  I missed only two points on the dish because my sauce was a little thin and my wheat was not quite completely done.  Pork was cooked perfectly, and the really cool thing was that I took its temperature at the exact time that it needed to come out of the oven.  Strictly off of instinct.  I never looked at the time, or saw how long it was in the oven.  Pretty freaky, if you ask me.  But you didn’t have to ask me because I just told you.

So I think on that note I’m going to end this post.  I have more that I want to add, and I want to start getting some more recipes in here.  We’ll see how that goes.  It took me over a month to write this post, so I’m done making promises.  Until next time.

Stay positive, love your life, and play with your food 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Bacon, Grilling, LCB, Pork. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Put Down the Pitchfork.

  1. Mom #2 says:

    Sounds like you are in it for the long haul! Glad you have several career options that you’d like to pursue. I’ll be interested to pick your brain after you finish the Nutrition class. Rock on!

Leave a Reply

