Creating the Future.

I really could not think of a clever title for this post, but it’s late and I’m out of excuses anyway.  I just wanted to give a quick update on something that I’ve started doing over the last few days that I wanna fill you guys and gals in on.

I’ve started a culinary bucket list.  Yes, I’m aware that a bucket list is typically a list of things you want to do before you die, but sometimes I get overwhelmed with ideas or recipes that I forget them.  Some of the things on the list involve a cooking or preparation technique that uses a tool or gadget that I do not have yet.  Some are purely experimental.  Others are fairly tame, just stuff I haven’t gotten around to cooking.  I will go ahead and say that as I check these off of the list, I will make posts about them, since I am, in a way, involving you all into it.  If there’s anything you think I should add to my list, tell me!  My one-year anniversary of this blog is coming up and I think I’ve gotten a total of 4 or 5 ideas of things to write about or cook.  Quite frankly, I thought I would get a lot more than that… but I also thought I’d have a lot more unique readers and hits to the site.  I guess I can’t get my way ALL the time, right?  And before I get to my list, I just want to add that I am going out to lunch tomorrow with my lovely wife to what is probably my favorite restaurant in Orlando right now: the Ravenous Pig.  Expect a post.

And one last caveat, just because I can…I have one or two ideas on my list that I have never seen anywhere before, and I will not be posting them on here.  Can’t risk my proprietary ideas getting stolen, right?  So without further ado, my list.. in no particular order…

  • Make another batch of bacon ice cream.  This one is going to come to fruition before any of the others, simply because I have been commissioned by several of my friends to make them batches of it.  Needless to say, I’m stoked.
  • Make candied bacon.  This is something that I will be doing whilst making the bacon ice cream.  It shall be delicious!
  • Make a balsamic glaze.  This is literally as simple as adding balsamic vinegar to a pot and reducing it.  I just have never gotten around to doing it.
  • Lamb burgers.  I think you all know how I feel about burgers.  And I happen to like lamb, too.  I just never have put the two together in my kitchen.
  • Infuse vodka.  Being a neutral spirit, vodka can be easily infused by the home cook, and I plan on taking advantage of this one.  The post regarding this part of the list might have a lot of misspellings.
  • Duck.  I have a whole frozen duck sitting in my freezer that needs to get cooked.  Just another of those things I just haven’t had a lot of time for… especially since I need to butcher it up and stuff.  And yes, I will be rendering out the fat from the carcass leftover bones to be used in any and everything.
  • Stock.  I’ve made it countless times at school and now I wanna make it at home.  I’ve got some chicken parts in my freezer along with another whole chicken and the aforementioned duck that will make a luscious stock.  Another time issue…and freezer space.
  • Beef short ribs.  I don’t do a lot of braising at home, but this is one meat that I wanna try because I know the flavor potential is through the roof.
  • Fried chicken.  Most people that know me personally know that I have been on a crazy fried chicken craving right now.  I would like to find the perfect fried chicken technique, and then go crazy.

So that’s it for now.  Not really an entirely rivetting post, I know.  But one I needed to put out there so my ideas are out in the open.  It also gives me a level of accountability since now I’m not the only person who knows about this stuff.

Maybe you found this at least a little entertaining.  I guess that’s all I can really ask for right now, eh?

Stay positive, love your life, and play with your food 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creating the Future.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sounds great!…except the carcass part.

  2. Alex says:

    the vodka infusing is fun stuff, and might i add, something you can totally do with rendered bacon fat.

Leave a Reply

