Beef at the Pig.

Wait, what?!  Another post?  But it’s only been a few days since my last one!  I know, I can hear you all already, and I even come bearing pictures!

Now, the title of this post reflects that I’ll be talking about a lunch date I had with my lovely wife at The Ravenous Pig on Friday afternoon.  I love this restaurant, and feel like it is one of the best that I have been to in a long time.  The food is consistently good, and the service is top-notch as well.  For a name like Ravenous Pig, you may find it odd that both my wife and I enjoyed beef dishes and they were quite tasty.

First up was my wife’s burger.  They call it the Pub Burger, and it’s a grass-fed beef patty, topped with a TON of local buttermilk bleu cheese, bibb lettuce leaves, roasted smashed tomatoes and onions on a fresh bioche bun.  It’s served with their truffle fries which are amazing as well.  As you guys know, I love me some burger, and this one did not disappoint.  The patty was a good size and perfectly cooked.  The bun was soft and ever-so-lightly toasted and grilled.  The toppings were smart if not plentiful.  My wife doesn’t like too much vegetation on her burger, so I think the bleu cheese was a little overpowering because it did not have all of the components on the bun.  I love bleu cheese though, so I think it was okay.  The patty was plenty beefy and very tender.  I would definitely order it for me without a doubt.  Here’s what it looked like:

Moving on to my meal, I had the Prime Rib sandwich.  The meat was smoked and crazy tender.  It was also served on a nice brioche with a tangy barbecue sauce, pickled and lightly fried veggies (tasted like a jalapeno pickle, very nice) and it was served with a side of fresh corn from the city of Zellwood that was grilled, very tender and had a dill herb butter on it.  I would order this again without hesitation.  The meat was tender and flavorful, and I couldn’t get enough of it.  The sauce was tangy and a little spicy, it helped cut through some of the fat of the meat.  The veg on top was a lot more than vanity; it actually served a nice purpose.  They were left still slightly crunchy, so they provided some texture to an otherwise mushy sandwich.  The corn was cooked perfectly, slightly charred and very herby.  Maybe a little too herby, but still very good.  I also got a real nice Maduro Ale which was an oatmeal stout.  That could have been a meal in itself.  Picture?  Okay.  The ketchup and mayo on the table were for my wife’s burger, NOT my sandwich 😛

We had to get dessert.  I mean, we didn’t have to, but we wanted to.  We got the pig tails.  No, not real pig tails.  That’s gross.  These were essentially funnel cakes in the shape of little pig tails.  They were hot, and doughy, and liberally dusted with cinnamon-sugar and powdered sugar.  Oh yeah, and they were served with a deliciously rich chocolate sauce.  It was really a pleasant plate of food.  That’s all that can really be said about them.

It really just occured to me that, with the exception of our drinks, all of the food we ordered were items that started with the letter “P.”  Cookie Monster would be proud.

Finally, I’m gonna show off my amazing pork roast that I made last week.  I know I toss around the word “amazing” like it’s nothing on here, but it’s applicable in so many of the situations I find myself in.  This pork was no exception.  And since everything else I wrote about started with “P,” it seems only fitting that I continue with this here.  Basically, I brined the meat (bone-in, center cut pork roast) in a simple saltwater solution for about 5 hours.  Then I took it out, dried it off and liberally dusted it with seasonings.  Placed it on a bed of red onions and apples, and slow-roasted it until it was almost done.  At this point, I took it out of the oven and then cranked it to 500 to get a nice crust on the outside.  And a nice crust I got.  I had it in the oven for no longer than 5 or 6 minutes before I took it out and was blessed with this image:

The crust reminded me of bacon it was so crispy.  It was fabulous.  The meat was perfectly cooked to a really nice medium, thanks to my handy dandy meat thermometer.  Then, with the stuff left in the pan, I got rid of most of the fat, sauteed the onions and apples, and made a pan sauce out of all that stuff.  I’m confident enough to say that this was one of my best pork roasts I have yet to make.  Oh, and it was incredibly juicy because of the brine bath I had it in.  I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again:  If you have the time, always brine (your pork and poultry.)  You’ll never regret it!

Stay positive, love your life and play with your pork 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beef at the Pig.

  1. Holly says:

    I never thought to put a roast on top of fruits or vegetables (especially not apples and onions). Usually I do a pot roast which is a little different. Do you find that aroma of the apples and onions gets into the meat roasting it that way or is it just obvious in the sauce you make from the drippings?
    …oh and now I’m craving a burger so thanks for that…
    I’ll let you know if Burgers and Beer is worth a visit because clearly I will be eating there shortly.

Leave a Reply

