Fellowship of the Rib.

Guys and gals, this post is way overdue.  In fact, I meant to write this post at least a week ago, if not more.  Furthermore, because of my delay, I have (at this time, anyway) forgotten everything that I wanted to talk about.  That’s not gonna stop me from rambling on though!

The thing I wanted to start out with is something that was really frustrating for me.  You see, awhile back, I bought some beef back ribs from my grocery store with no idea in mind what to do with them.  I put them in the freezer and just hoped that one day I would find out.  Well, recently I started needing freezer space, so I took them out of the chill to defrost with no idea how to cook them properly.  Part of me knew I did not want to grill/smoke them because it would take awhile and I was low on fuel.  So I took to the internet.  When you do most any search involving a rib recipe, you are confronted with hundreds of thousands of different recipes/techniques for cooking pork ribs, be it baby back or spareribs.  There are a considerable amount fewer recipes available for beef ribs.  But, I found a technique to use after sifting through pages upon pages of results and refining my search no fewer than a dozen times.  I’m gonna share it with you now because I don’t want you to go through the same anguish that I went through.

First thing’s first, you need to buy at least one rack of beef back ribs.  (Fun fact:  These are the bones that make up a standing rib roast, and with the bones removed, the grocery uses the meat as rib eye steaks.)  Ok, so once you have acquired the meat, I would recommend you take off the “skin” that is on the bottom-side of the bones in order to make them a little easier to eat.  That is completely optional.  Now, go ahead and put a flavorful rub on there, but go light, because we’re also gonna use barbeque sauce in the end.  I used a mix of kosher salt, black pepper, garlic powder and dried oregano.  Preheat your oven to about 325 and put the rib rack on a half sheet pan.  If you want, you could also rub a little oil on the meat now to help everything stick/aid in browning later.  Once the oven beeps at you, put the sheet tray in the oven and set your timer for 45 minutes.  They’re not going to be done, you’re simply checking on them at this time.  So after that time elapses, you’ll want to check them out.  How do they look?  They should look good.  Tasty, even.  But again, they’re not done.  You may want to let them go for another 15 minutes or so if you feel like they may not be where they should be.  It’s hard to explain, you just have to trust your instincts.  Now, you’ll want to apply a thin layer of the sauce to the ribs.  In order to make your life easier, I would only apply to the top of the ribs, where the meat is, and be careful!  The pan is hot!  Once you have a nice little coating, toss them back in the oven, carefully.  After another 15 or 20 minutes, take them out and apply another light basting.  The goal here is twofold:  creating layers of flavor (because of the rub) and really infusing the sauce’s flavor into the meat.  Do this basting a total of about 3 or 4 times, bringing the total cook time to about two hours.  At this point, they’re basically done, but they could use some help.  If you have a little time before you’re going to be serving these, you can safely cool them and put them in the fridge with no ill effect.  If they are to be served right away, however, you’ll want to take them out of the oven and crank it up to 400.  Apply another coating of the sauce to the ribs, this time, the thickness of the layer is up to you.  I recommend a light coating since the flavor is already there, this is the layer for texture, mostly (especially if the sauce contains a lot of sugar.)  Once the oven hits 400, put the ribs back in the oven.  I cannot tell you how long this will take.  It could be 5 minutes, it could be 10 minutes, it depends on several different factors.  The main point is, the higher heat is going to help crisp up the outer layer, adding a nice contrasting texture to your rib-eating adventure.  Remove from the oven upon obtaining the amount of browning you like to see.  Cool down a bit and carefully carve.  Enjoy and bring lots of napkins!

I think that about sums up the rib “recipe.”  I realize it might be a little hard to follow, so if you have any questions, just ask.  The ribs I made this way were really really delicious.  The meat is tender (both because of the type of meat, but also due to a long cooking), and it has a very rich beef flavor.  The sauce I used didn’t have a lot of sugar in it, but was slightly tangy and a little spicy which was really nice as well.  I’m really happy with the way they came out and I am upset it took me so long to make them.  I think beef ribs are under-rated, but they provide a lot of “bang” for your buck.  Do it!  Go and buy some beef ribs and do this!  Not only are they delicious, they’re fun to eat also!

I was thinking about adding more content here, but I figured I have typed enough and I want to keep this post about the ribs.  I hope that I can post again soon because there is actually a lot of stuff I want to cover with you guys (and gals, of course).  So until next time,

Stay positive, love your life, play with food 🙂
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fellowship of the Rib.

  1. Holly says:

    😦 no pics

Leave a Reply

