Green Bean Challenge.

So I received a comment on my previous blog basically challenging me to make a green bean casserole without using cream of mushroom soup from the can.  The direct quote being “…I can’t imagine making cream of mushroom soup as an easy task.”  I never said I was going to make CoM soup…  Here’s what I’m going to go.

Stuff Needed:

  • Green Beans
  • Mushrooms
  • Butter
  • Flour
  • Onions
  • Panko
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Chicken Stock
  • Half-and-Half
  • Garlic
  • Nutmeg

For the sake of ease, I’m omitting amounts and measurements except where necessary.

  1. Blanch the green beans in salted boiling water for about 15-25 seconds to lightly cook.  Drain well and set aside.
  2. Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in a straight-sided saute pan.  Lightly saute the sliced mushrooms and the garlic (minced.)  Dust in 2 tablespoons of flour and cook another minute or so, stirring constantly.
  3. Stir in some chicken stock and let it thicken.  Add some nutmeg.
  4. Stir in some half-and-half.  Boom.  At this point, the sauce is done.  Stir the green beans and some thinly sliced onions and bake.
  5. Put more flour, some salt and some panko in a plastic bag, toss in more onion slices, seal the bag and shake.  Once everything is coated, deep fry (or you can roast in a hot oven) and when the casserole is bubbly and hot, add onions to the top.
  6. Alternatively, you could add some melty-cheese during the last few minutes of roasting in order to get more color, and some cheesiness.

So there you have it.  Green bean casserole NOT using canned anything.  You don’t have to make a soup, just a sauce.  But if you think about it, just increase the amounts a little bit and you’re making a soup.  Simple as that.

Final note:  If you are fortunate enough to have HOMEMADE chicken stock, this dish will be even more amazing.  This is the one ingredient I am lacking, so I have to use store-bought.  If YOU have to use store-bought also, I suggest you go with the lower sodium version.

  •  
About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Recipe, Thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Green Bean Challenge.

  1. Holly says:

    Okay. So first off, I have to say I had my reservations. I mean, nutmeg? Really? The only reason I even have nutmeg is for pies… No way that was going to work. Secondly, I had no idea what blanching was…yeah… N00b…I know. Good news is it was easy to find instructions and it’s super easy to do.
    That said, this recipe was very easy to do. I think the hardest part was tasting the sauce and then waiting for it to be done… I’ll be making that sauce many many more times in the future. I’m not a black pepper person so I did add a little cayenne instead. I’m so glad I did.
    I will definitely make this for thanksgiving instead of the canned soup version. I cant wait to impress my mom. I wish I could post pix in the comments. It even looked great!
    So, thanks! I’ll have one extra thing to be thankful for this year… This blog 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    I dig it, BOOM!

  3. Pingback: A Bird In the Hand. | J Lethal's Food Frenzy

Leave a Reply

