A Bird In the Hand.

So I know I’ve taken a little bit of an extended leave and have taken my sweet time to post about Thanksgiving.  I promise it’s worth it.  I have my real disclaimer at the end though, so hang with me.

Thanksgiving was epic, really.  If nothing else, I would like to up sell the benefits of planning ahead.  I did all my major prep and some cooking on Wednesday and by Thanksgiving morning, there were times I was standing around in my kitchen with nothing to do.  It was amazing.  The best part was that the food was very good.  I’ll just go ahead and dive right in.

Meat my bird.  I ended up getting a whole turkey due to cost-effectiveness.  No complaints.  I rubbed it all over with an herb butter that I made and stuffed it with aromatics and some lemon to steam inside.  Blasted it at 500 degrees for 30 minutes and then slow-roasted it until the meat was at 160.  The skin was flavorful and crispy, and the meat was very juicy…thanks to my overnight brine.  My dad, who normally doesn’t like turkey, was asking for seconds and leftovers to bring home.  There were a lot of leftovers, too.  I ended up making several sandwiches with the white meat, and the dark meat turned into turkey fried rice and thanksgiving leftover won tons.  I was very happy with my bird.

This was my green bean casserole.  Remember the post I wrote a few posts ago?  No?  Ok, I don’t blame you…  But this was a homemade green bean casserole with no canned ingredients.  I made the mushroom sauce, deep-fried my onions and baked it all.  It was amazing.  Better than any canned casserole could ever hope to be.  I know the onions seem a little dark on top, but they were just right.  I fried them to golden and crispy, and then the whole thing got baked for a little bit, which ended up browning them even more.  I would be happy to make this again sometime.  I posted the recipe in that previous post.  You can find it by clicking here.

 

This was my stuffing.  Store-bought challah bread, staled and cut by me… along with celery and onions, herbs and stock.  A very good stuffing.  Next time, I would cut the bread a little smaller, and bake it in such a way to have some texture… something crispy on top would have been nice.  Not really complaining though.  I’ve never made it from scratch before, and it tasted really great.

 

The tops of my sweet potatoes beckon.  This was a “traditional” sweet potato casserole with the bruleed marshmallows on top.  I loaded this up with fresh nutmeg, brown sugar, cinnamon and real Vermont maple syrup.  It was sweet without being too sweet.  Really a nice item.  These also made really great leftovers, of which I had plenty.

Having a wife who also happens to be a macaroni and cheese connoisseur is a very good thing indeed.  This mac was made from scratch using a bacon-bechamel.  With my homemade garlic-herb bacon.  Oh it was good.  But you know what?  Lindsey tasted it and said “It needs something.”  She then went through our spice cabinets and altered the macaroni as she saw fit.  She made it a TON better.  I had nailed the texture and creaminess, but she added a lot of flavor that was much needed.  I also broiled this for a few minutes to brown the tops a bit.

 

I made these yeast rolls in the morning.  They were good.  Admittedly, they could have been better.  I had them sitting on the counter too long while I waited for parchment paper and they didn’t rise as much as they should have in the oven.  They were slightly more dense than I would have liked them to be.  That being said, they still tasted great, and made a great item to sop up sauce or fill with turkey or ham.

 

 

 

Speaking of ham, my mother brought a Honeybaked Ham, which is always delicious.  Here are some more pictures of my spread.  There are some things missing, or things I didn’t mention yet.  I made homemade cranberry sauce, which was nice.  Some cranberries, cranberry juice, orange juice, honey and time.  Very good.  Also, for appetizers I made deviled eggs and my sort-of-famous stuffed mushrooms.  We ate good 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And that brings me to my disclaimer.  I have been thinking about my blog and vlog a lot lately and I have some big plans.  I don’t want to promise anything I am not gonna deliver on, but I want to let you guys and gals know that I haven’t forgotten about you.  I plan on turning my video “experiments” into an actual product of sorts.  I’m going to try to re-brand myself.  Make my videos more like a show.  Basically, I’m trying to up the professionalism a little bit and make the videos useful.  I’m kicking around a few names in my head for what to call it and I may reach out with a poll or something and see what you guys think.  I ask that you please bear with me during this as I hope I can stick with it and make a functional show on YouTube that I can keep up with.  My goal is to have a weekly episode.  We’ll see how my food costs will let me accomplish that 😉

I appreciate you guys a bunch and look forward to your feedback.  It really means a lot to me.  I’ll keep you posted as things happen.

Stay positive, love your life and play with your food 🙂

 

 

About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Bacon, Thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

