Companion: Roast Chicken, Sauce & Rice.

This post is my first companion-piece to my Tasty Technique “show” on YouTube.  I’ll have a companion for each show that I upload on the same day.  I’ll start them all with “Companion” in the title so they can be easily searched for.

With that out of the way, I want to thank you for watching my first video, which can be located by clicking here.  I really think roasting a whole chicken is a very valuable skill and can save a lot of money down the line.  Fact is:  buying a whole chicken is a whole lot cheaper than buying just parts…If you eat the whole thing.  Anyway, here’s a quick breakdown of what I did and what you need to know.

I got a 3.5 pound chicken, labled as a “fryer” I believe.  These are a good size to roast because they’re not too big that they dry out before everything gets cooked.

I used about 2 or 3 tablespoons of butter.  It is true, I wanted to have some herbs or other flavorings, but I didn’t have any.  Thyme, oregano, sage, garlic… These are all good things to put in the butter and I’ll show how to make a compound butter in another episode.

The cavity of the bird can and should be filled with aromatic veggies and herbs if you have it.  It’s a really nice way to add aroma and flavor to the chicken if you have extra laying around in the fridge.  If you use an herb in your butter, toss a sprig or two in the cavity and be rewarded.

The rice is a simple 2:1 ratio of water to rice for a “normal” product.  You can play around with this depending on how dry you like your rice, but a well-cooked 2:1 yields a moist rice.  Feel free to add in up to a tablespoon or so of butter to the water as it’s coming to a boil.  I tend to opt-out, but it’s your choice.  You could also substitute some or all of the water for something like chicken stock.  If you use carton chicken stock, I would omit the salt from the water, you’d probably end up over-salting the dish.

For the pan sauce, I didn’t remove any of the accumulated fat from my pan.  I should have.  I had way too much and my roux (fat + flour) wasn’t thick enough.  It’s not a big deal, but my sauce wasn’t as thick as I wanted.  I used a white wine that I had on had for the sauce.  Never use a wine that you wouldn’t also drink.  Why would you want something you won’t drink in your food?  It’s there to add some back-bone to the sauce, so you want to keep it on the heat to reduce it out a bit.  This step is optional, you could just deglaze with some stock or even water if you wanted/didn’t have any wine on hand.

I know some of this may have seemed a little tricky, especially the sauce, but I can assure you it is not.  Just start by roasting the chicken and not making a sauce.  Then step up one day and do it.  You’ll be glad you did, especially if you make a mistake.  You can learn from it and see how to make a better sauce in the future.  You can also do this with almost any meat, really…which I will of course cover in the future.  I’m happy to answer any questions you have about this process, of course!  Another thing about the chicken:  I took it out of the oven at about 155 degrees and let it rest to coast up to 160-165 which is the appropriate temperature for chicken to be done.  Anytime you cook meat, you should always let it rest 5-10 minutes after cooking it anyway to allow the internal juices to settle before cutting into.  This will give you a juicy product, and also ensure that the appropriate cooking temperature is reached.

One final note:  I know I didn’t show how to carve the chicken.  I know.  I’m sorry.  Time required me to take out the piece I filmed on it, but to be honest, it wasn’t well-shot.  I promise that I’ll cover this in a future show and it will be easier to follow than what I had.

Thanks for viewing and I’ll catch ya next week!

About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Companion, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

