Companion: Scrambled Eggs and Bacon!

Let me be clear:  I love breakfast.  I love bacon, and I love eggs.  Scrambled eggs are a staple in my household, mainly because they are easy, and you can add all sorts of things to make them delicious.  I also like eggs over-easy, but that’s another show.

The thing about cooking eggs is I don’t use measurements.  It’s hard to tell you how much of everything I used, so I will have to estimate.  Before I get into the content, I do want to mention that kosher salt is the main salt I use for almost everything, including scrambled eggs.  If you don’t have that, go get some.  You can get a pound of it for about $2 at the grocery store and it’s amazing stuff.

Now, the bacon.  It should be something fairly simple, right?  Well, yeah, but too many times I see bacon being cooked into oblivion, or cooked incorrectly.  I wasn’t lying about eating raw/undercooked bacon fat.  It’s no fun whatsoever.  The key, as I mentioned in the video, is to take your time.  As bacon rests, the fat that’s left settles and becomes crispy and pleasant.  Use a medium heat, don’t over-crowd the pan and flip often.  Wait till there’s some browning on one side, then flip.  Wait and flip.  That’s all.  Now, I only made two slices, which fit perfectly in my pan.  If I was making more, I would either do it in batches, or cook them all in the oven:

Oven cooking method:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Line a sheet tray (with a lip, please) with aluminum foil.  Lay your strips of bacon on the tray, overlapping slightly.  When the oven is ready, place tray in oven.  After about 10 minutes or so (or until the top is browned) flip the bacon and repeat.  It should about 15 or 20 minutes.  Don’t cut your pieces like I did in the video if you are doing this method.

The eggs.  These happened to be very good eggs I made, which was nice because I really was hungry.  The thing I can say about eggs too, is take your time!  If breakfast is the most important meal of the day, why would you rush through it and make it nasty?  I have had some bad eggs in my life, and I suspect that had the cook taken their time, and taken them off the heat earlier, they would be great!  So to recap, the two important aspects of eggs are to:  Season them very well and take your time.  I think I used 2 small pinches of kosher salt to season my eggs… maybe 2 medium.  How do you measure a pinch?! …I know the answer, just too lazy to do it right now 🙂  Anyway, season well.  Use the right fat.  If you don’t have bacon fat handy, use butter.  Melt it entirely and add the eggs.  Some dairy in the eggs is nice, but not required.  I teaspoon or two of sour cream is especially nice.  You could also add in fresh minced tarragon if you had it, chives, parsley…all are very good.  Gently cook the eggs, add cheese when they’re almost done and don’t overcook it.  If they look done in the pan, you won’t like eating them, I can assure you.  Don’t cook them to death, and you shouldn’t even get any browning if you manage your heat well.  I’m sure some of you will see my eggs and think that they’re under-cooked, but I can assure you, they were creamy, had great moisture and great flavor.  Ever see a plate of eggs sitting in a lake of moisture?  That’s supposed to be in the eggs.  I think I’ve said enough.

Thanks again for checking it out.  Please help me spread the word, both about my show and my blog.  I’m anxious to show you guys more techniques to make amazing dinners, lunches, snacks, etc…

Oh, and if you haven’t seen it yet 🙂

About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Bacon, Breakfast, Companion, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Companion: Scrambled Eggs and Bacon!

  1. Marsha Blackford says:

    Really Jon, two tsp. of salt for two eggs? I know kosher salt isn’t as strong but it’s not too salty?

Leave a Reply

