Companion: Episode 4, Pork Chops and Apple Sauce!

Pork is the most amazing protein there is.  That’s it.  Good night everybody!

Obviously I’m kidding.  About the last part anyway.  Anyone who knows me personally will tell you that I love pork.  I’m always cooking pork, and I’ve become pretty good at it.  I’m pretty aware of good flavors that go with pork and this technique will net you a nice pork chop when done properly.

I think the big problem a lot of people have with cooking pork is that they over-cook it to oblivion.  There’s no need for that!  Pork these days is raised so differently than the “pork of yore” that you can cook it almost to medium-rare and still be okay.  Overcooking your pork chops will just give you a hockey puck for dinner, and they’re gross.

These chops were bone-in and not particularly thick, maybe 1/2 inch at most.  Manage your heat well, and when you’re brown on both sides like in the video, you’re probably done.  Dredge the pork chops in seasoned flour.  I only used salt and black pepper for the entire dish, but you could do whatever.  Sage or thyme are really good with pork, but I would rub those right on the meat as to not waste it in your flour.  Also as I mentioned, I used my leftover flour in my bag to thicken my sauce.

If you don’t make the sauce, please make sure you rest your meat.  This goes for nearly any protein you cook:  you want to rest it at least 5 minutes after cooking before you go cutting into it.  I’ll demonstrate this in a future video, but by letting it rest, you’re giving the juices inside the meat (which have been highly agitated due to the high heat of cooking) to relax and settle throughout the meat.  If you cut into it while it’s right off the heat, your meat is gonna be sitting in a pond of juice that should be in the meat.

All ranting aside, I used the exact same technique to make my pan sauce this time as I did in episode 1 with the chicken.  The thing that was different was I let the cider reduce down quite a bit and that thickened it naturally, on top of the flour I put in there as well.

The onions were fantastic as well.  I divide these into 3 or 4 zip-bags and freeze them for future use and they’re very convenient.  Slice them thin and take your time.  It will take about an hour for 3 pounds of onions if you’re doing it right.  You don’t have to watch them continuously, but you *do* want to come in every couple of minutes and stir them now and again.  I also did not salt them at all.  None.  Don’t do it.  One time, I salted them at the beginning of the process, and it pulled a ton of moisture out of the onions and I had an onion stew… took forever to steam out all of the extra water that I didn’t need to deal with.  You can season the onions when they’re done and the moisture is cooked out, that’s fine.  You’ll find that the onions are very sweet and are unbelievably good on a nice cheeseburger… sautéed with some mushrooms for a steak, on your ice cream, in your eggs in the morning… nearly anything.

So that about sums it up for today.  I appreciate all of you stopping by, both here and the youtube channel.  Keep spreading the word and this thing can only get better!  I’ve already convinced myself that as I hit milestones, I’ll do something special for each milestone.  Details to come as I get close to certain milestones 🙂

About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Companion, Pork, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

