Companion: Episode 5, Carving a Chicken

To be honest, there’s not a lot I can update on this episode.  Clearly, I need a bit more practice at butchering chickens, but you get the general idea.

One main point I want to bring to your attention is that you’re gonna want to get to know your chicken.  Don’t be afraid to move it around the board to get the best angle, flip it upside-down and stuff.  I do it all the time if I’m having a hard time getting through a joint, or around a bone.

Another point I’d like to bring to your attention is that once you can butcher a chicken, the same technique can be applied to almost any poultry item with only minor changes.  Start with chickens though, because they’re cheap… but the same technique can be applied to turkeys, ducks, geese, hen, etc…

I have two viewer requests right now in queue, so I’m excited to get to work on stuff that someone is specifically looking for.

I hope you guys and gals are enjoying my videos.  It’s definitely a labor of love right now, and sometimes, I’ll be honest, I feel like I’m only doing it for myself.  I know there are people out there who like this sort-of stuff, and I’m just trying my hardest to make these videos short and useful… and to be viewed by as many people as possible.

Please help me spread the word if you like what you see.  Link to me on Facebook…share my YouTube links, it really helps me out.  I’m not making any money off of this thing, but the more people I see view my videos, the happier it makes me.

Maybe that was kind of a selfish thing to say, but hey… I’ve been writing this thing for about a year and a half now, I think I can be honest at this point 😛

But enough of me ranting.  Hope today’s video learned ya somethin’, and I’ll catch ya next week!

Fun fact:  That actually was my dog barking in the background while I was cutting the second chicken breast…I’ve spent millions of dollars sound-proofing my home for these videos, and yet that still leaks through…It’s almost like this is some sort of amateur production 🙂

About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Companion, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

