Italian Food Done Right.

I’ve had this post in my head for a few weeks now, and It’s about time I share it with you!

There’s this new restaurant in my neck of the woods called Prato, and it was opened by the same chef who runs Luma on Park, which I’ve mentioned in my blog before. Anyway, this new restaurant is authentic Italian, and it’s very unique and very, very good. The decor is nice and all, but I’m not here to talk about that, right?

I absolutely loved this place, so much so that I’ve been back twice already to work in their kitchen 🙂 But really, I can’t wait to go back as a diner again because the food is great, the ingredients are fantastic, and the flavors are amazing. They have two giant custom-built clay ovens right from Italy in the kitchen and they cook all of their pizzas in there.

Speaking of pizza, that’s what my wife had to eat. 20120213-101111.jpgThe Widow Maker pizza is the name, and let me first start by talking about the crust. I love the crust on pizza. I am always looking for a flavorful crust, and I found one here. Just crisp enough because of the oven, and really good flavor. The toppings were great, too…It’s got braised kale, fennel sausage, romesco sauce (which is a red pepper sauce), topped with goat cheese and… well, there’s supposed to be a farm egg on there, but my wife doesn’t like runny yolk, so she opted out of that item. Either way, it was quite, quite good. All of the toppings served a purpose and worked well with each other. I almost regretted my decision and wanted a pizza. But then I remembered that I ordered a pork chop 🙂

20120213-101121.jpgThis was definitely one of the best pork chops I’d ever had…and you guys know I eat a lot of pork. It was grilled to a perfect medium doneness, and topped with this sweet apple relish (actually called mostarda,) served on top of a butternut squash farro risotto. Oh my goodness that risotto was good. It was the perfect amount of creamy, had a really nice texture, and when mixed with some of the apple, it was darn-near magical. The chop had a nice char around the rim which added a nice texture and flavor contrast. It was ridiculous. I did not regret my decision in the slightest.

We even had room for dessert, if you can believe it. My wife got a chocolate mouse with sea salt on top. Once mixed in, it was a very good dessert that she couldn’t put down, but in its “served” state, some bites were too salty. I had a tiramisu.

20120213-101133.jpg

They serve all their desserts in those little canisters, which is a nice little single serving. My dessert was pretty heavy on the rum and coffee, which I really liked. Our waitress mentioned that some patrons had mentioned to her that it maybe was too much of that flavor, to which I respond: Bullocks! Why would you get tiramisu if you didn’t want that flavor?!

So that’s about it for now. I’ve got another post cooking (get it?) about my classes at school, so I’ll finish that one up soon too. In the meantime, I hope you’re enjoying Tasty Techniques, and the new episode will be posted later today.

Stay positive, love your life, and play with your food 🙂

 

 

 

About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Eating Out, Pork and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Italian Food Done Right.

  1. Holly says:

    There are people who don’t like a runny yolk?! Blasphemy! This looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

