Look In My Window

The week of Thanksgiving is really a herald to proper planning and organization. You can ask my wife, I’ve got a notebook full of my shopping list, ingredients, recipes, and most importantly: my game plan. I like to think of the week leading up to Thanksgiving as a challenge of timings and preparedness. So, here’s where I’m at thus far, being that it’s Monday evening.

Saturday: I did all my grocery shopping, and I was out for several hours. Part of it was horrible because of people. But it was mostly successful. I think I only forgot one thing, which for me is a miracle. I made a mental note of where everything is in my pantry and made my dinner roll dough that I forgot to mention on my previous post. I froze the dough and it will come to room temp on Thursday morning.

Sunday: I made my cranberry sauce, and most notably my marshmallow. It was the first marshmallow I’ve ever made and I think I already know how to improve it for next time. Anyway, it is still fantastic, reeks of rum (in a good way) and will taste fantastic on my sweet potato casserole. Or just plain. They’re really good. I also cut up my bread for my stuffin…dressin…. ugh. whatever you call it. Bread Pudding muffin things. Medium-ish dice on the bread, and left the crust on to keep things interesting. The maple cashews were also done this day. Admittedly, I over-roasted the nuts a little, but with the brown sugar-maple glaze and the salt combined really add a trifecta of flavor that I really enjoy (the third flavor being semi-bitter since the nuts were a little…brown.) Knives were also sharpened, because going into Thanksgiving (or any day, for that matter) with dull knives is a huge no-no. I also took the time to clean up after myself because… that’s just the type of guy that I am.

Tonight: The only things on the plan for tonight are to stale my bread, which really is just me opening the plastic bag the pieces are in overnight. And also to fry my shallots for the green bean topping. This doesn’t seem like much, but I’ve got to mow through 1# of shallots, peeling some of the largest shallots I’ve ever purchased and then (CAREFULLY!!) running them through my mandoline slicer. Fun side note: I purchased a cut-resistant glove to wear when I use my mandolin because I have a bad habit of wanting bits of my flesh in my food, apparently. It works like a charm and keeps all my digits in tact while I slice away. There will undoubtedly be pics loaded up to Instagram tonight, so if you follow me, you’ve been warned.

That’s it for now. I’ve got my plan for the next few days all lined up so I’ll be sharing those as the days pass.

Allons-y!

About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

