Changes Coming to Tasty Techniques

Well internet, we meet again.  It’s been awhile since I’ve posted, which seems to be the norm these days, but there’s something else.  Maybe if you’ve noticed, I didn’t post a companion for the chicken stock video…and I probably won’t post a companion for the chicken pot pie video that just got uploaded.

You see, when I started Tasty Techniques, things were a little simpler, I was getting home from school at a decent hour and getting a fair amount of rest at night.  Then the semester changed.  Now I’m not one to make excuses, but with the new term meant new schedule… meaning I now get out of school at about 11:30p.  Then I wake up at around 5:15a-ish to go to work.  You don’t have to be a math genius to see that my rest amount had been cut dramatically.  The free time I have now is far less than the amount I had 6 weeks ago.  And I love doing Tasty Techniques.  I absolutely do, but in order for there to be a balance I need to make some changes.  And I care about my viewers and readers, so I want to be as forthcoming and honest with you as I can.

First, the companion pieces will be gone.  Well, for now.  I’ll try to keep up with regular posts more though, since they tend to be a little more interesting.

Second, and this is the big one…Tasty Techniques is going to become a bi-weekly show.  I can’t do it.  For instance, this last video I shot on Sunday night, ending at about 12:30a or so… and spent most of my day off on Monday editing it to much frustration.  Then I had technical difficulties which pushed back the upload to today.  I don’t want the process to feel like a job, and it was bordering that line, and I hate that.  I love cooking and I love what I’m doing on YouTube so I want to make sure I keep the integrity of the product for you guys.  Maybe as time changes I’ll get some more free time.  If that happens, I’ll re-evaluate the frequency in which I post.  But for now, I need to cut back.  For my own sanity.  I hope you understand, but if I keep it weekly, the quality will suffer, especially with these monster-length videos I’ve been posting.

And then… to piggyback on that last point.  Maybe after I see what my workload is with the show going bi-weekly I’ll look at doing companion posts again.  My goal however is to always have a show in my pocket…always staying a week ahead when I can, and I haven’t been able to do that.

So, there we are.  A little bit of a personal post today, but I need this.  The last thing I want is for Tasty Techniques to fall by the wayside.  I will continue to put my heart into it, and keep spreading the word just like I have been, it will just appear less often.

I do want to thank you dearly for reading my blog and watching my show.  It means a lot to me to see the support I get from all you guys.  I just need to try to convince another 100k people that they need some Tasty Techniques in their life 🙂

Thanks for stopping by.  I’ll see you soon.

-Jonathan

About imasamurai

I am the owner of https://myfoodtalk.wordpress.com . A recent culinary graduate from Le Cordon Bleu just trying to make it to the next meal. I may not always do things the easy way, but I certainly do things the tasty way!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Changes Coming to Tasty Techniques

  1. Aunt Jo says:

    I don’t see how you do it all, but Way to Go!!

Leave a comment